---- Ah DTube, why do you hurt me so..... ----steemCreated with Sketch.

in #dtube5 years ago


Dtube

Well i guess its official Dtube just dont like me, lolz. It had been well over a year since i started trying to use Dtube to host my videos instead of utilizing Dr Evils YouTube, but alas I am destined to continue my path on the dark side as no matter what i do i just cant upload to Dtube.

In the past I would log in, but only if i did not click the "remember me" button, yep thats right, im not allowed to log in if that button is highlighted. Once im in i can select the video i wish to upload and while i wait for the video to finish up i fill in the title , tags etc. When i clicked the button once completed it would "think" about doing it, but then kick me out as i was not "logged in" and i would have to start again. This was the infinite loop i was dealing with when trying to upload videos to DTube in the past.

Now the story is similar, but still the results are the same. Again cant have "remember me" highlighted , get in load the image and fill in the blanks hit the upload button and..... nothing. The button does not do anything... wait a bit try again, still the same issue.

I have raised this issue within the Dtube Discord with no response to what it could be or how to rectify it. I would say that the people i talk to are 50/50 split on if it works for them or not. but i can tell you as someone on the side that don't work its a pretty shitty feeling wasting time tryna get it going and being piped right at the end of the process...

Well its back to YouTube for me for my video uploads, maybe i will try again in another 6 months to a year but im not holding my breath.

Sort:  

Yeah, Dtube never sent me confirmation to activate my account, so I just stick with Youtube as well...

Its sad cause we wanna switch over to support the decentralized programs and systems, but we just cant use them. im still hoping it will work for me one day so i can leave YouTube behind

I am hoping a lot of broken things in our social design get fixed. You ever notice how technology as a whole, even though it can seemingly do more things, is cheaper in quality and tends to fall apart or stop working more quickly than just a decade or two ago?

Ah yes, you are referring to "Planned Obsolescence", i wrote an article which had some content on the matter a while back. Its definitely a "thing" which is built into the design these days in almost every industry... consumerism ;)

Planned Obsolescence is something which can be seen quite easily in the phone industry, where the "updates" create issues for "older" phones requiring the owner to buy a new model to "keep up".

Planned obsolescence, or built-in obsolescence, in industrial design and economics is a policy of planning or designing a product with an artificially limited useful life, so it will become obsolete (that is, unfashionable or no longer functional) after a certain period of time.
Wiki Source

YES! I did learn about planned obsolescence in the 10th grade. Once I questioned the teacher about it, asking why we did it when we clearly have finite resources, he replied, "That is just how it is! How DARE you question it!" Then, I was sent to the principal's office for thinking too much, lol. Silly Capitalistic practices....

That's what you get for thinking critically , we cant have people walking around out there thinking rationally.... what would happen to the organized world ? lolz.

From my understanding Planned Obsolescence was a move and design which "assisted" in getting us out of the great depression by creating a grater circulation of money, it was so profitable that it just kept going and has now become a staple of the greed we see today.

Back in the days things were over engineered and built to last, no a days you buy a phone and within a year its slow and not performing well thanks to their "software updates".

So to be clear a company can sell you a working product, then systematically make that product perform worse and worse over time until its unusable just so they can sell you a new one, AND do the same thing.... and that it perfectly fine...

lolz, thats how we be livin these days.....

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61372.29
ETH 2888.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62