Bujinkan Bojutsu: 笠之内 Kasa no Uchi

in #dtube5 years ago


五境五界詒変捌型 Gokyō Gokai Ihen Sabaki Gata.

From http://www.rojodojo.com my Bujinkan 六尺棒術 Rokushakubō Jutsu video exploring the kata 笠之内 Kasa no Uchi. First the densho version, then a henka from Hatsumi Sensei. Then adding a henka that I like because it is very quick and direct.

Then I showed how more dynamic or more realistic footwork makes these henka essential. When the attacker tries to counter and cut back in with his sword, you must control the distance and space. The strategy I use for this is ihen sabaki.

Part of this ihen is shielding with the bo. This is most important if you have to close distance. To be able to enter against a skilled swordsman takes some skilled sabaki.

Now, 10 months after I first witnessed it, I finally felt some understanding of the ihen Hatsumi Sensei shared with us. In this particular instance, Soke used two staffs. The methods he employed were fantastic and I wrote about them here: 詒変の棒 Ihen No Bo: My Bo Stands Against the Wind

So we finished up class with this expression of 辛抱 shinbou. It is amazing how the staff will fight for you if you allow space for it in your movement. The results appear miraculous. This effortlessness is crucial to understanding our Bujinkan art.

Of Note: Dim Sum Ukemi


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60955.99
ETH 2884.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63