Bujinkan 体解 Taihodoki 浮かす Ukasu Preview

in #dtube5 years ago


From https://www.rojodojo.com A preview of my Bujinkan video exploring Bujinkan 体解 Taihodoki with an 浮かす ukasu feeling. We began with the kata 蹄拳 teiken. But this was just a platform to explore the basics of taihodoki. The Japanese text says the attacker comes in with 羽がい絞め hagai jime or even 羽拭い絞め. While this is similar to a full nelson, the actual method of performing this hold is different. During my recent Japan trip, Senou Sensei showed me personally how to do it. I studied a similar version during another Japan visit with Someya Sensei, but Senou went into even more detail.

This pinion lock can also be done like holding back a bird’s wing. When applied this way, it is painful and difficult to escape. I shared a method I studied with Hatsumi Sensei that allows you to snake free by changing the elbows.

Another technique is to bow forward. This can lead to a koho keri or a roll to escape. But Hatsumi Sensei is always teaching control. So we did this with a sutemi that tosses the opponent over. Sometimes by his own neck!

If the opponent attacks with a カンヌキ締 Kan'nuki jime like in the kata 殺締 sakketsu, we move to create space before he has locked in. Last month when I was in Japan, Hatsumi Sensei said we should use 空間 浮かす Kūkan ukasu. This means floating in or with the kūkan. The opponent should become light in the space.

Soke will interrupt his opponent’s attempt to yoke him with the shime by using his own elbows. Just raising them as you feel the attack. Or, lifting one side to unbalance the opponent.

This allows space to access a hidden weapon like a knife. Then I used that as a pivot point for control. My opponent’s hand or arm gets trapped and sliced by the blade as I turn. Or he finds it in his body during my sutemi!

Of Note: Super Blood Wolf Moon


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61383.17
ETH 2915.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61