You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Virtual Busking - "A Pariah's Wet Dream" in Rei Romanian, Manouche style

in #dtube5 years ago

Just so people are familiar with this - gypsy jazz or manouche is a style of music popularised by Django Reinhardt.

The Romanian scale apparently comes from Romania.

The term gypsy is technically a term used for a group of people with Romanian bloodline. Yet, it is used for so many other things as well in Western culture.

Gypsy jazz is technically not gypsy music per say.

But whose to say it's not.

It's important to make the distinction because I have been pulled up for cultural misappropriation for using the term 'gypsy' for myself. In one sense, yes this is true.

I have many friends in Eastern Europe (a place where there are a lot of gypsies) and I even went to the trouble of asking them, is it offensive to gypsies (of the Romanian bloodline) to take on this label? They said they wouldn't really give a rats arse if you put that label on yourself.

Having travelled through eastern europe and Turkey myself I have met 'gypsies'. And many non-gypsies use the term 'gypsy' as a derogatory or negative label - as a curse word.

There are so many types of gypsie from different origins all over the world and not all of them come from Romania originally.

In the end, I just ended up calling myself a nomad/troubadour/travelling musician etc.

So here is a long story about semantics. And who cares to listen.

Have a nice day! =)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63878.79
ETH 3133.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85