VIDEO: Crazy Idea on Steemit! Crowdsourcing Mentorship

in #dtube6 years ago (edited)


I reached 400 followers! Thanks to all those who follow and extra thanks to people who actively engage and upvote my content!

When I hit 400 followers, I suddenly realized something crazy. It was hiding under my nose this entire time!!!! What if I told you, you can CROWDSOURCE mentorship here?

RIGHT HERE ON STEEMIT.COM! Let me explain how massively powerful this idea is. But before I do that, the video above has EXTRA information. Be sure to watch the video for the full bit.



When I reached 400 followers, I had the same feeling back when AOL Instant Messenger was the defacto messenger. I felt disconnected and alone without any guidance.

And in that instance, I thought back at why I've been successful in my real life career as an engineer and realized that if it were not for my work mentor, I wouldn't be half the person I am today. Then I realized how I can tie in real world mentorship and apply it to steemit and crowd source it! I know, its a CRAZY idea. But I'm going to prove that this can work on the steem blockchain.

If you want to keep following this journey, then the most important thing to do, is to follow me and interact with me. I am going to prove this concept, and reinvent myself using the steem blockchain in 2018.

How this idea began

In the 4.5 years that I've been a part of my company, only 3 of those years were really fulfilling because the first 1.5 years were spent as an engineering gypsy. I worked with one team, then I jumped to the next and floated around in the company without anyone willing to take me under their wing.

Why were they unwilling to mentor me?

I wasn't a hotshot engineering student. I was new to the engineering world since I've always worked as a physical laborer. I also didn't quite understand how to perform my job, even though I had the technical skills through education. So anyone who didn't allow me to show my learning potential and simply wanted a warm body to work, would never have given me the time of day.

This is a lot like the problem on steemit.com, there are many people eager to grow, but don't know how to grow themselves because they lack mentorship. And the lack of mentorship is largely due to how young this blockchain is.

There are a lot of great articles out on steemit.com but I don't think reading is enough, because you might end up with the information in your head, but acting on it really becomes challenging if you don't have some guidance, a lot of perseverance, or someone who has alternative experiences that can parallel onto the platform.

OR!

You get to see it live through crowdsourcing.

Why mentorship is important to me

In my entire life, I've never really had a mentor until 1.5 years into my current career.
And I'm 29 years old, it means that I've spent 26 years without mentorship. The truth is that I don't really look up to my parents a lot in terms of mentorship, rather they've taught me skills such as perseverance, and hardwork, a lot of that has to do with the fact that I'm a first generation American, so my parents didn't have a lot of education when they grew up, they just knew how to work hard. And I am eternally grateful for having been taught that.

How do you find a mentor?

Honestly, I dont think I have the best advice, but I pretty much worked on proejcts that were 1 or 2 months long and jumped to someone else if I didnt get the right vibe from them. If I did, then I would try another job with them and thats how I ended up with my current mentor.

How a mentor pushes you to do better

My mentor kept me on track, he guided and me told me what to do, why we're doing it, and how we're going to execute.

What this allowed me to do was take everything nice and slow and repeat the same types of actions that are necessary to learn how to approach an engineering job and slowly build my confidence to become a project manager. Along the way, I cranked out numbers, drawings and memos for him and in that process, I learned the technical skills on top of the soft skills.

The Steemit Effect

What I want you to do next is pay close attention to what I'm about to say, and only the people who read this part will get the message (or scroll back up).

I want you guys to think of steem it as a transmission line. The line can transmit anything you want. If you invented the internet, you could broadcast it on the transmission line. If you invented fax, telephone, TV or anything you could imagine, you could transmit it on the transmission line.

The Steem blockchain IS THE TRANSMISSION LINE. Steemit.com is a blogging website that leverages the TRANSMISSION LINE. We just need to come up with things aside from blogging to piggyback on the steem blockchain. Those ideas are essentially what I'm chasing after. And the crowdsource mentorship will help me create the ideas that will become LIVE and their execution will become a public resource for everyone to refer to in the future.

The goal of GIVING AWAY THIS INFORMATION is to increase shareholder value.

To do this, I'm going to open up a part of my life onto steemit and crowdsource mentorship here to maximize the opportunity presented to me by the steem blockchain.

This will be the most significant step in my life. 2018 will become the year where I want to take a chance on all of the things I've been taught on how to learn and literally leverage the power of this blockchain to do more than just blog.

BORDERED.jpg


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Your idea could be put into a new platform where people can post their abilities and potential to connect with others. These posts could be moderated like on Utopian and mabye also work with a sponsorship model. That way it could be financed and attract more people.

That would be interesting, perhaps start off with an "ask alice" kind of column first, and people could post solutions up, and the best one gets upvoted like yahoo answers. But your problem would become public and you wouldn't be able to submit....unless it was anonymous! Now were thinking!

Hey @motoengineer

I actually thought about this myself, not in the mentorship optic but with another business model in mind.
However, still using that "Transmission Line" model you talk about here in this post.
So I think we're not the only ones seeing the blockchain as we do - which is a good thing.
Congrats on the 400 followers, I just broke 200 so I'm halfway to where you're standing now.
Have a great 2018.
Cheers! Upvoted.

The business model you have in mind, is what I want to develop and share. The fact is that there is no business model on the steem blockchain other than vote selling and blogging, but the blockchain can do much more than this. My goal is to take the crowdsource information here to build a model of otherways to leverage the blockchain and create a blueprint for others to follow.

You earned yourself a new follower for this, definitely want to stay updated to what you manage to do. I agree, the blockchain is way more powerful, but it is young and still needs more great minds on it.
And people with funding too.
By the way, I think you voted on my posts one of these days thanks to a voting bot, loved the voting power so consider doing it free sometimes :P
hehe. Cheers man

Wow how to be you @spirtitualmax. I wish o can answer steemit so I can efficiently mentor it to all people interested

please follow me am good voter for you thanks.

awesome post

The importance of mentors in any endeavor cannot be overstated. But l would clarify it little further. Crystallizing thoughts, learning new things goes through a definite process, requiring different expertise at its various stages. Setting out with coaching, subject matter experts, and then come mentor, guiding you all the way to initial success. Having said that these are role play and such an individual can play multiple roles, but surely are different in objectives and approach followed to accomplish that.

Yes, I want to clarify what I meant further and that's going to be a follow up post! I think part of my post is a big ambiguous if it isn't read all the way through. I can't possibly mentor a bunch of people, neither do I think I am a suitable mentor. Instead I'm looking to crowd source mentoring and then publish this information for everyone as a blueprint!

U hit the bullsyeye...waht a lovelly post and already reks up $200 +
@motoengineer good to have u...will u like to mentor me?

@steemflow can j be your classmate and can @motoengineer be our mentor

Thanks, I am trying to create a blueprint on how to leverage the steem blockchain to do more than just blogs. It would be incredibly difficult to guide individual people since we want success across the board! Stay tuned so you can see examples of how we develop ideas to leverage the blockchain!

please follow me am good voter for you thanks.

Right on brother, im pretty nee here and thinking about what to,actually blog about is tough, anyone eilling to give advice hit me up. My first blog was about how we can help each other by sharing our knowledge so yours made me happy to see my idea is bigger than me

You're doing a great job and I really like the idea about the transmission line. Only this line is not a line at all. It's like the sun, emitting its own light to every direction. I feel like steemit has lines in every direction. I'd call it Steemality

Steemality is a good word and indeed with Ita global scope and an array of topic it's really changing the world were living in one blogger at a time @spellmaker

Which would be the sun? the blockchain or steemit.com? I think I would say that the sun is the blockchain and steemit would be solar panels, utopian.io would be solar heat, and perhaps another medium would be solar wind farms (interstellar solar energy).

please follow me am good voter for you thanks.

Hell yeah! What's the plan? I know I could use some mentorship as I've also never really had a mentor.

Im going to create another post next, I think my idea got lost in translation. I want to leverage the members here to mentor me so I can compile a blueprint of otherways you can leverage the blockchain. My goal is to bench test methods other than vote selling and blogging to increase the value of the blockchain. Stay tuned since the most important aspect that will be shown on steemit, is the intensive labor i will go through to create this road map.

beautiful!!!!!!!!! And Happy New Year!!!!

400 Will Be 800 Soon :) Good luck (y)

Nice gif you need someone experienced than you to teach you how to do something new

please follow me am good voter for you thanks.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64733.60
ETH 3170.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16