Midsummer Permaculture Gardens on the Homestead

in #dtube5 years ago (edited)

D9994D75-17F1-4808-A7A1-133C9A8C823B.jpeg


The gardens are lovely this time of year on the homestead. In our 4th summer, it’s been a pure pleasure to play in them. The soil has improved considerably (though we still have a ways to go until it reaches a lush loamy tilth!)

We’ve also had an incredibly rain early summer and though the rains have tapered considerably in the past month, the gardens are lovely!

Today after a rain I took a silent stroll through the gardens, peering at the plants through the lens of my iPhone. I hope you enjoy the plants and recognize some that we’ve talked about in years past.

You’ll see plant guilds, row cropping, polycultures, and even one bed of one one crop (when I weed it!) Hope you enjoy!

I’ll make another vid on a sunny day walking through the gardens talking about stuff :)


▶️ DTube
▶️ YouTube
Sort:  

A suggestion?

it would be great if some of the plants were simply identified, like saying "Zinnia" (which I knew along with cosmos) but a lot of the plants I couldn't quickly identify, and would have liked to know what I was seeing....

But everything is lush and lovely! Beautiful gardens, and just so far ahead of us up here in new England... :))

Yeah! I’ll be making another one soon that is more of guided tour :) just wanted to let people see it without me talking for once.. and it was so nice after the rain!!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

You've been visited by @thistle-rock from Homesteaders Co-op.

I don't know why it is that when I look at other people's gardens, all I see is imperfect perfection, yet when I look at my own, all I see is chaos!

Such a lovely garden you have. One day in the future, when we move, I intend to have a different garden than I have now, one that is also imperfectly perfect! There is such beauty in gardens that are natural without trying to make is perfect and to let natures beauty shine through.


Homesteaders Co-op

A community marketplace of ethical, handmade and sustainable products available for STEEM, SBD (and USD): https://homesteaderscoop.com/

follow: @homesteaderscoop

💚💚💚 thanks thistle Rock! I love the winding imperfectly perfect Gardens myself. They’re more beautiful than the immaculate ones imho!

Hi @mountainjewel!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.869 which ranks you at #1295 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 1 places in the last three days (old rank 1294).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 181 contributions, your post is ranked at #17.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Great user engagement! You rock!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Thanks for sharing your creative and inspirational video!


This post got curated by our fellow curator @tibfox and you received a 100% upvote from our non-profit curation service!

Feel free to check out our channel @diytube to:

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64498.18
ETH 3079.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86