I WANT TO DRAW YOU! Episode 7 - @ange.nkuru| Vlog #34

in #dtube6 years ago (edited)

IVE MISSEDYOU DTUBE (1).png

Hello! And Welcome to I Want to Draw You!

Today is the seventh episode of my series where I will be drawing members of the Steemit and Dtube community. The members chosen were the first 8 people to comment on my video announcing this challenge. It's an opportunity for me to develop my skills and also connect more intimately with the wonderful beings in this community.

The seventh comment was from @ange.nkuru. I am yet to know him well but it seems he enjoys writing poetry and sharing his photography. He was kind enough to leave a comment on my video so I was happy to follow through with the request.

I took a couple days off from this series because I strongly started to feel the burnout. I give huge praise to those who manage work life and steemit life and social life successfully and can upload videos every day. It's hard work and requires a lot of mental energy. Originally I was a little down on myself for not staying true to what I had created but I could feel the resentment building towards two things I thoroughly enjoyed, creating videos and creating art. Sometimes it's just so important to give space to the things we care about so we can come back to it with a clear mind.

During my time away I focused on studying art and learning technique and getting new inspiration from some of the artist's I really love. A quote that has always been valuable to me is "learn the art of science, and the science of art." I may not be a scientist in the conventional sense but it pays to understand the mathematics and forms behind technique and then with that we play. I came across a book called Mindfulness and The Art of Drawing and although I am only at the beginning it really prompted the inspiration not only for the piece but for this video.

With this piece I had a reference image but no real plan in mind. I allowed everything just to move as it chose itself. I refrained from letting the critical internal dialogue guide the process. Instead I just listened and greeted this part of myself like a friend. I had moments of doubt but I let the feeling of creating, the movement of my hand, the way the brush stroked the paper, the rain outside my window, take me away from overthinking. And at the end I am incredibly happy about how this all came to be.

Thanks for being here and I hope you enjoy.

5F1545D6-9367-4B3B-8B69-3DEB3DD54D48.JPG

Biggest love to you!
Sarah. 🦋


Screen Shot 2018-02-09 at 9.04.14 am.png


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Another beautiful piece of work from you @neeqi! It's been amazing to watch you progress and hone your skills over time :)

Thanks lovely. I always appreciate your support!

great work my friend keep sharing

Thanks, I'm glad you enjoy!

Wow @neeqi , that was awesome :)
I loved not only your choice of artistic representation, but also your presentation of the vlog :)
Peace.

Thanks @bobaphet. I think this video and the art overall has been my favourite that I've made so far. Relatively simple execution but there was a lot of heart in this one. 💛

you are amazing artist...i like this art so much..dear cutipie. ♥♥♥♥♥♥♥

Thanks Afrin. 💜

welcome..cutiepie..

Congratulations @neeqi, this post is the eighth most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a User account holder (accounts that hold between 0.1 and 1.0 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by User account holders during this period was 3426 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $8863.03. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

Awesome video. I love this idea and your execution of the concept is spot on. Your artistic process was so thoughtful and really made me consider my own need to be intentional about my space and my mind when I create.

Definitely looking forward to future postings.

Cheers!

Thank you @ssimkins9. Going back to the concept, it seems pretty obvious but when you lay out the space and intention for your creative process it really sets the tone. I'm glad you're here, thanks for watching. 💛

Don't be down on yourself for feeling burnt out! Like you say it's hard to balance work and social life before even adding in steemit and dtube.

Your art is crazy good and takes a lot of time too, just keep on keeping on at your own pace.

I'm always my hardest critic, but I am learning to have a kind conversation with that aspect of myself so that there is less resistance and more development. We all need balance, we just need to know how to establish it. Thanks for watching. 😊

😊😊 thanks you're really amazing artist :)

So beautiful! ❤️ Sometimes it is only wise to take some time off in order to clear your head, and it's wonderful that you took the time to study art.
I have to say that I'm struggling, too, with the work-life-school-bachelor-steemit routine in my daily life, especially now that I can feel the BA paper deadline approaching.
It pains me that I cannot commit to doing art, it's my number one passion, so I'm really happy to see that you're keeping up with that and doing BETTER AND BETTER with every painting!
I love your mixed medium technique and your little ritual - lighting the incense to set the mood.

Thanks Kate. Art is still so important to me but theres definitely times where I just don't have the energy. It's really nice just to be able to take inspiration from artists I love, or just watch videos of others doing art so that I can bank some ideas for when I am actually in the mood. I hope once your BA paper is complete you will have a little more time to dedicate to doing art!
And thank you, it's been nice to see how a consistent practice has really helped me improve! And I always love a good scent, incenses are my favourite. 💛

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57369.97
ETH 2943.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63