[EP108] - Should Youtubers get DTube upvotes?

in #dtube5 years ago (edited)


Hi everyone!
Hope you're all well!

How do you feel about YouTubers getting Dtube upvotes?
I wasn't a fan... but the more I thought about it... the more I can understand the reasoning. I'm not sure if it's entirely done on purpose, but I'd also reject any ideas to stop. Dtube is an amazing platform, but it's still growing and needs as much content as possible. Penalizing really anyone that's creating their own content doesn't sit well... even though I'd prefer people creating content specifically for Dtube to get priority... I'm not sure how you'd organise or moderate that.

Thoughts?

Thanks for watching!




Check out my more detailed post on my blogging account How to train for Ninja Warrior or my website Australian Ninja Warrior


Join the @dtubefitness community today! Everyone is incredibly supportive and extremely generous with their knowledge.

Join the @dtubefitness curation trail so that you too can get regular upvotes and support on your fitness journey:


Check out some detailed info at my EXHAUST page
Join me in testing out EXHAUST!


Australian Ninja Warrior | Australian Ninja Games


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

The one thing I personally like about videos on YouTube and dtube is that YouTube generally won't delete my videos. All of my past videos on dtube are long gone. I don't post on both really, except for something I don't want to be erased, or something that was erased on dtube I still want people on Steemit to see. I don't know how to get an IFPS thing or think I'm enough of a vlogger to do that yet if there's a decent expense.

Awesome videography to work out and blog. You almost walked into a pole a few times, so be careful there!!

Is that your own personal training cave?

Yeah, it's definitely an issue.
The benefit to posting on YouTube is that if you've done enough to be monetized, then videos could earn you money for years... which is absolutely not the case for DTube... and that means that we probably won't ever get a done of How To videos on the platform that YouTube is very good for.

That whole thing does actually put me off from sinking a ton of time into videos... I'd be excited to create something really epic.. but if it's only going to have a short life span, it doesn't really seem like the right platform.

It is!
I've got an overuse elbow injury that I've had for 9 months that hasn't healed yet, so I'm not able to use my cave to it's full capacity... but yes, I love it in there.

Hi @ninjavideo!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.370 which ranks you at #7521 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 121 places in the last three days (old rank 7400).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 189 contributions, your post is ranked at #97.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

As long as the content is current and the YouTubers is not posting old content to game the system for votes, I see no issue with dtube upvoting YouTubers, I imagine they want the quality influencers from YT to come on over.

I 100% agree.

I raised it because I was noticing that people who were creating videos specifically for YouTube (and then reuploading those exact videos to Dtube) were getting the DTube vote more consistently than people who were creating exclusively for YouTube... and considering that there's only so many DTube votes to go around... it didn't seem super fair.

But, as you've said... you can't always be fair if you want quality influencers to use the platform, so sharing the wealth is definitely the way to go to grow the platform... especially since the quality of videos for YouTube tends to be higher given their longevity.

Thanks for dropping in man! Awesome to have a DTube celebrity rock on by.

I'll be back later with my thoughts on the whole YT vs. Dtube thing - but I think this is a great topic to discuss!! I just wanted to leave a quick comment for now to say that I love that you worked out while vlogging! Haha that was super awesome to watch and pretty brilliant actually to multi-task!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64420.25
ETH 3150.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99