[EP112] - What is your relationship with food?

in #dtube5 years ago


Hi everyone!
Hope you're all well!

I'm really curious to your relationship with food.... are you planning your dinner at breakfast time or do you forget and then just eat whatever is nearest? Are all your social events around dinner or brunch? Are you happy with your fitness, weight and diet or not?

I've always had a complex relationship with food. I've had a super high metabolism all my life... and have mostly been ravenously hungry, with a huge appetite. I joked a lot that the majority of my money went into my stomach, and I honestly don't think that's too far off.

I've tried lots of different diets; for staying full, for building muscle, for endurance, for sustainability reasons, for convenience and I honestly haven't loved any of them. Probably my favourite was when a friend came up with a complete diet for me, and we paid some uni students cash to buy our groceries and make all our meals for the week... the diet was great, the convenience was phenomenal and I didn't have to think about it ever.

In the US, we're too poor and too remote for such ridiculous luxuries, and I just haven't quite got anything to stick. What do you do? How do you go about it? I'm super interested to know how food fits in your life.

Thanks for watching!




Check out my more detailed post on my blogging account How to train for Ninja Warrior or my website Australian Ninja Warrior


Join the @dtubefitness community today! Everyone is incredibly supportive and extremely generous with their knowledge.

Join the @dtubefitness curation trail so that you too can get regular upvotes and support on your fitness journey:


Check out some detailed info at my EXHAUST page
Join me in testing out EXHAUST!


Australian Ninja Warrior | Australian Ninja Games


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Hey @ninjavideo, this is an amazing post with a lot of

  • inspiration
  • motivation and
  • creativity in it!

You have been curated by the @ddaily curation team and we are grateful that you shared your work with us.

If you want to know more about the @ddaily family - then please check out our channel and
do not hesitate to connect with us via discord. You can find the link at the botton of every post of us!

THE POWER IS IN THE PEOPLE!

image.png

Thank you, that's very sweet of you all. Thank you so much!

Oh man I have so much to say on this topic! I'm actually in the middle of trying something new...which has actually been going really well.

A little backstory...

Early 2018 I was the heaviest I've ever been - and I started eating "Lectin free". If you google Dr. Gundry - it will all come up. It's kind of a mix between paleo and keto. You basically eat grain free, gluten free, low sugar... and smaller amounts of meat/dairy etc. It focused on reducing foods that contain lectin and casein - which are toxins for your body to process.

My body LOVED it. I dropped 30 pounds pretty quickly. It was insane... I was thinner than I was in high school, but felt totally healthy.

Than going to Poland and eating a million perogi's mixed with the holidays and I gained about 15 pounds back. I figured once I started eating stricly lectin free again I'd drop those 15 pound fast.

Sadly... I was wrong.

So the last week or so I've done something that I never thought I would do... I'm counting calories. Even though I'm eating super high quality, gluten free/grain free foods - I was still consuming WAY more calories than I thought. I was eating a lot of products made with almond flour and not paying that much attention to how much oil I was using in sautéing vegetables etc.

Like I said this is all pretty new - but I've already lost a couple pounds in the last week because my body is responding so well to this. I thought counting calories would feel restrictive - but it's actually been really freeing.

Someone offered me a delicous, homemade chocolate chip cookie (glutenfull and all) yesterday and I usually would have felt guilty about eating it and paid for it later by feeling kind of bloated. I just budgeted for it in my caloric intake that day and ate a smaller dinner. I felt totally fine. I know cookies aren't the best form of calories - but it was nice to eat one without feeling guilty about it.

That last statement makes me think about what you said in your video about how much time we spend THINKING about food. You are so spot on. We spend a crazy amount of time as a culture obsessing over it. Myself included. It's tricky because I'm such a foodie and I love good food...but I also want to take care of my body and have a slim physique.

In general though... I've just focused on finding "replacements" that I really like and then not spending too much time obsessing past that. For example - I found a brand of ice cream that uses coconut milk and monk fruit instead of sugar so it's fairly low calorie and super low sugar.

Phew... this might be one of my longest comments in a while! haha I'm actually thinking about making a video talking about calorie counting ... so we'll see how that turns out. :)

I cannot even tell you how excited I am with this comment!

I think part of the reason we all struggle so much, is that not only do different diets cause different reactions in different people... but as you've said, the exact same diet can work out differently on the same person. The variables that affect us are absolutely endless.

I'm honestly super surprised that your body reacted so differently, but I'm super proud that you moved onto another plan instead of giving up altogether. It would have been so easy to be all 'well, that didn't work' and just grab a plate of cookies.

I do struggle with calorie counting a little, almonds are really expensive, but they're really good... but I think generally the whole process of being aware of what you're eating and tracking it in regards to the rest of the day is a trillion times more worthwhile than not doing it because it's not a perfect system... I mean, if we had a perfect system we wouldn't have to think about it all so much.

Thank you for this most amazing comment... I had totally forgotten about both Lectin Free and Calorie Counting, and it's given me a little more to think about... which hopefully gets me to a place where I don't have to think about food so much.

Thanks!!

Hi @ninjavideo!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.378 which ranks you at #7476 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 19 places in the last three days (old rank 7495).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 179 contributions, your post is ranked at #54.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64344.02
ETH 3142.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01