Steemit perceptions, THEN vs NOW!!

in #dtube6 years ago


HEY HEY

Remember the first time you tried to introduce steemit to the people you know and others. How did that go?
As a true steemit believer, i tried to share the good news during a time when the concept of cryptocurrency and bitcoin was not well known. The concept of making money from social media was too far fetched for most people. Watch the video below as i talk about my experiences with introducing people to steemit when i first joined, to the experiences i face today.

Shout out to @kevinli who put out a vlog 10 Ways to Instantly UPGRADE your DTube Videos | Vlog #14

. If your thinking of starting a vlogging channel, id watch this video, good Job!!

Leave a comment below, would love to hear your experiences.

KEEP STEEMING:)


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Amazing post.much obliged for sharing it.
Upvoted and resteemed

so cute! Upvoted! I like it! don't forget to follow me :)

Well, I'm not really trying to recruit anyone yet, I've only been around for a few days (ignore the creation date of my account, it's been inactive for months). But I can see the diffidence, I can understand it.

The thing is, in this day and age, everybody is a believer in something. Social networks create factions, and factions create fanaticism. Everybody tries to sell you something, an idea(l), a product, a cause. If somebody was to come to me with the promise of making money with a "new system", I'd be at least dubious. Hell, I've sat 3 hours in a bar with a friend who was trying to recruit me into Amway by saying "this is not a pyramid scheme. It looks like a pyramid scheme, it works like a pyramid scheme, but I promise you, it's not a pyramid scheme!". It doesn't really help when there's cryptos involved, even now that, as you say, they are out there: most people don't know what to believe, are they "a bubble", are they "imaginary, intangible currency", are they "the money of the future"?

I think if and when I'll try to get people to know about Steem I'd focus on the social network angle, and I'd make sure I really know the mechanisms behind cryptocurrencies, so that I can explain it to them in simple yet effective words. Most of all, I'd specify it's really, really hard work. People tend to be less diffident when you explain that whatever you're offering them is not really for free :)

@ziofeda wow that was a really intercede explanation!! Thanks for that. You hit the nail on the head on that one. It is very hard when you get on the plateform, it’s not easy for a new steminian!! I almost gave up and kinda did for a while!! I know I hate it when someone is trying to sell me a get rich scheme, at the back of my head I’m always rolling my eyes!! I can see now that when I try and encourage people to join steemit it may seem that way. For the most part, for as long as iv been here I haven’t really been an active member of recruiting people, i mentioned it to some friends and I could tell they were rolling their eyes. They were not buying it. Haha it’s probably better that people discover it like how most of us did, through social media or through crypto currency.

Thanks for that, I had a light bulb moment reading your message:)

Love to be of any help at all :D
You're right though, we all love to find out something for ourselves, I think. Life lessons, life partners, little treasures. We don't like to be set up :D
Thank you for your videos! See you around :)

YO THANKS FOR THE SHOUTOUT ❤️

I'm glad the video helped you. I've got so many stuff to share with everyone but can't bang it all out at once haha.

I'm yet to persuade anyone to join this network, they're all really skeptical still. Oh well, guess they'll jump on when everyone else does. Might be too late by then.

Damn you got a video on 800 and 300, mad paydays coming in for you 👊

Hey there Orora, thanks to mr. @kevinli i stumbled upon you. You are...

FREAKING AWESOME!!!

It's nice to connect with even more steemians than before!

You are definitely right about people talking about bitcoin now and before they didn't know rats ass about it :D well, let's hope that for steemit as well. We will FREAKING RULE YO!!

Keep on being hilarious as you are and let's connect further!

Winny out...for now ;)

PS: Are considering doing #dtubedaily with us? That would be AWESOME!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69626.36
ETH 3667.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82