I'm So Lonesome I could Cry - Hank Willams Sr. COVER

in #dtube5 years ago (edited)


Of all the old, true country songs in the world, I think this one is my favorite. I listen to it when I'm sad. I listen to it when I'm happy. I listen to it when I'm bored. I really never get tired of it. Never. When i sing it I feel sad and happy at the same time. How is that a thing? I don't know. But it is.

Fun fact, I am wearing my daughter's shirt in this video and she told me that it doesn't look good on me. So... apologies for that. It was clean and accidentally hanging in my closet and I needed a shirt.

It says "Future Leader" on it. Maybe that's why it doesn't suit me. I am not a follower... but I am also not a leader.

Anyway. Thought I'd put this up on D.Tube because why not.

Also.. just some other stuff going on. I have been buying some super cheap little fun tokens through steem-engine like hug coins and moon coins and cookie coins (thanks @torico) .. and yes I said MOON coin. I can give you the moon now. I have that power.

Okay I'll just sing now.

Lyrics

Oh, hear that lonesome whippoorwill
He sounds too blue to fly
The midnight train is whining low
I'm so lonesome I could cry

I've never seen a night so long
When time goes crawling by
The moon just went behind the clouds
To hide its face and cry

Did you ever see a robin weep
When leaves begin to die
That means he's lost the will to live
I'm so lonesome I could cry

The silence of a falling star
Lights up a purple sky
And as I wonder where you are
I'm so lonesome I could cry

Songwriter: Hank Williams Sr.
© Warner/Chappell Music, Inc


▶️ DTube
▶️ YouTube
Sort:  

Hank was awesome. I don't even need to be drunk to enjoy that sound of his, and you did a fine job of that song.

Aww, thank you so much. And I don't have to be drunk either. I love all of his songs. Too bad Hank Jr. didn't learn more from him.

To be honest, my indoor inside brain radio thing doesn't even play any Hank Jr. I can't even think of one song of his. I bet if I heard one, I'd know it, but I stored nothing of his, at all. I have a vague recollection of a man with a beard wearing a black cowboy hat. Some dark sunglasses. But that could be the dude at the gas station.

So beautiful, as always, @paintingangels. What an awesome cover. I totally know what you mean about being happy and sad at the same time. Sometimes I think those two emotions must occupy different parts of our brains and hearts, because they are not mutually exclusive.

Thank you, Jayna! And I do believe you're right about that! They are two different worlds entirely. ♥

ah such beautiful lyrics and a perfect fit for your lonesome whippoorwill of a voice <3

Thank you so much, Carl! ♥ I appreciate being compared to a whippoorwill more than you know.

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

@helpie is a Community Witness
For more information about our project,
please visit this month's UPDATE post.

i think you sing this better than hank... gives me all the cookie feels!

You are so super SWEET. ♥ Thank you, Tori.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Thanks for sharing your creative and inspirational video!


This post got curated by our fellow curator @priyanarc and you received a 100% upvote from our non-profit curation service!

Feel free to check out our channel @diytube to:

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.02
ETH 3139.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14