You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Looking Outside of STEEM to grow your Blog #3 Collecting Email Addresses

in #dtube5 years ago

steempress with wordpress is fantastic and there are many positive reasons to use it. I think one of the big advantages is that steem can be a little scary for many, but a standard blog, well people are so use to it so they are not so afraid. you can also keep an eye on your traffic, see what is doing well and what is not doing well, something you can no do with steem yet when posting directly

Sort:  

True talk.I guess is settled then is WordPress all the way

Finally made up your mind, then? Lol.
The possibilities of WP are almost endless, whether it comes to content creation, traffic generation, building a followers base,... anything you can think of. And there is of course SteemPress. All the benefits (??) of Steem, combined with the million more possibilities of WP.
A lot of people's work here deserves a bigger audience than just the members of the platform, and WP is the tool that can, no: will make that happen.

steempress rocks. I am now using it on my non steem blog and I am hoping it becomes a valued added benefit for my blog over others that blog about the same topic as me. right now I am in soft launch mode. I havent done much in terms of notifiy my users what it is all about. In stead I am letting them get use to the look of the new comments section and letting them see some rewards might just spark curiosity ( which is having an effect because I have had some direct emails asking about it)
Feel free to take a look at one of the posts with steempress in use. The content is not up your alley but im just showing you so you can see how it works.
http://theexcelclub.com/how-to-parse-custom-json-data-using-excel/

in simple terms what I am hoping is that people will start to engage, earn rewards for doing so which they can then offset against the prices of my courses. I do hope to power up by brand account here on steem so I can give the rewards.

It is really great idea to implement it like that. And an A+ for your 'sales pitch' - I mean, you've put it in such a way that it will indeed be effective.

But I wondered ever since I tried implementing Steem comments through Steempress on my own WP blog: do people who do not have a SteemIt account have any option to comment?
I couldn't find one on my blog, and now I can't seem to find one on yours. Maybe it is there, and so obvious that I'm not seeing it - it wouldn't be the first time, lol.

Still, if enabling Steem comments in Steempress allows only people with a SteemIt account to comment, you'll be limiting yourself, IMO.

I had seen some Excel posts on the Udemy website when I was checking back on your Steem course. I find such things very interesting, and I see how it works, but at some point my brain simply refuses to process the information. It's a shame, because I'd love to be able to work with it. But apparently, my brain sees and treats JSON as well as Javascript as well as PHP like math. After 5 lines, it simply shuts down and I can't process the info. Maybe I should get myself a real life, preferably handsome (that always helps) teacher one day who can teach my brain to tell the difference... ;0)

you are right, people dont have the option without a steem account to leave a comment and I have removed the old comments section completely. Actually I removed it well before I introduced steem comments because I was getting to much spam. lol having to sign up for steem seems to be a deterant for spammers on my blog anyways. However I also changed the format of my blog. before it was just an educational post with no real reason to interact. Now on each post I add an activity with data for people to copy and I put in some questions for people to answer and then the following week I update the blog post with a video tutorial working though the practice activity. Its all still really new and I see people are click to sign up with steem. When I do the harder launch, fingers crossed it will work out.

Lol I get you about the topic, javascript and PHP mess with my head too. its not for everyone and I guess thats why my email list is successful, people don't sign up to it unless they really want the content.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 67756.95
ETH 3539.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.14