D-Tube Wednesday: footage of jellyfish floating by beach in Malta

in #dtube5 years ago


Hi there my Steemian friends and followers!

Welcome to my D-Tube Wednesday series where I share my videos taken at interesting places that I have visited during my travels.

Today, I will take you to the beautiful little island of Gozo that is a part of the Maltese Archipelago.

I have already posted a few articles and videos dedicated to this place, such as this video so I am not going to repeat all the background info again. Instead, I will show you a very interesting creature that is quite typical of the Maltese islands - the jellyfish.

There are actually several species of the jellyfish living in Malta but this is the most common one - the Mauve Stinger (Pelagia Noctiluca). According to the locals, the occurrence of the jellyfish on the Gozo Island is somewhat random but when we were living there back in 2014, it definitely was their strong season as there often were hundreds of them floating by the beaches. Sometimes, it was literally impossible to swim in the sea because of the sheer numbers of the jellyfish occupying the coastal waters.

Let me now show you a short of footage of one of these little guys that I took by the beach in Marsalforn where we lived. They actually look pretty cute but their sting is very painful.

I hope you enjoyed the video. If you did, stay tuned for the next episode of my D-Tube Wednesday series. Thank you @dtube for allowing us to share our videos with the Steem community.



pokus-maly.jpg


Thank you for visiting my blog. If you like posts about #nature, #animals, #traveling and discovering secrets and beauties of the #world, feel free to follow me as these are the topics I mostly write about. Have a wonderful day and keep on Steeming!


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

pěkná potvůrka. Nejspíše bude i pěkně žahavá ;-)

To jo, já teda to "potěšení" neměl, ale prý to bolí jako prase :D

Pěknej úlovek. Na jaký pláži byla?

No ono jich někdy bylo fakt tolik, že spíš bylo umění vyfotit něco bez nich :D Občas to u břehu vypadalo třeba takhle:

1525698_10201495727898465_2039715973_n.jpg

Video i fotka je z přímořské vesničky Marsalforn, kde jsme bydleli.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=phortun
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=0hr4w1ma


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

jellyfish wow. thanks for share.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 65012.58
ETH 3101.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86