D-Tube Wednesday: snorkeling with turtles in Gran Cenote near Tulum, Mexico

in #dtube5 years ago (edited)


Hi there my Steemit friends and followers!

Welcome to my D-Tube Wednesday series where I share my videos taken at interesting places that I have visited during my travels.

Today, I will take you to the Gran Cenote, one of the most beautiful cenotes found in Yucatan.

Now you are probably wondering what a cenote is, right? Well, a cenote is basically a sinkhole that formed naturally after a limestone bedrock above it collapsed. These pits are filled (completely or just partially) with underground water, which makes them really cool places to explore.

Situated in the lush Yucatan jungle, just a few kilometers west of Tulum, the Gran Cenote is actually a complex of several cenotes that are connected by little natural channels. The water in the cenotes is so crystal clear that you can see the abundant underwater wildlife here even without the snorkeling mask.

However, you are recommended to bring your snorkeling gear because you can snorkel with turtles here. That is right, the Gran Cenote is home to a large population of the red-eared slider, a semi-aquatic turtle known as the world´s most popular turtle pet.

It was my first time using the underwater camera so the video is a bit awkward at some points but hopefully, you will get an idea of what it is like to swim with these little guys in the cenote.

I hope you enjoyed the video. If you did, stay tuned for the next episode of my D-Tube Wednesday series. Thank you @dtube for allowing us to share our videos with the Steem community.



pokus-maly.jpg


Thank you for visiting my blog. If you like posts about #nature, #animals, #traveling and discovering secrets and beauties of the #world, feel free to follow me as these are the topics I mostly write about. Have a wonderful day and keep on Steeming!


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Cool! Did you also see the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles?! :D

Haha not sure if the Ninjas were of this species :D But I loved that series when I was a kid! I had posters with Leonardo all over my room :D

:D!!...So did I! I loved the nintendo game!

I played it on my videogames :D Who was your favorite character? Oh man it is like 20 years ago... Historic stuff :D

Yup! :)...I think it was Donatello with the stick! :D..And you?

Leonardo :) But in the video games, it was Michelangelo - he had some really cool moves there :D

Isn't he the pizza lover?! :D

Yes, that´s him! :D And we share this passion btw :D


You just planted 0.09 tree(s)!


Thanks to @liltammy

We have planted already
6949.00 trees
out of 1,000,000


Let's save and restore Abongphen Highland Forest
in Cameroonian village Kedjom-Keku!
Plant trees with @treeplanter and get paid for it!
My Steem Power = 28569.86
Thanks a lot!
@martin.mikes coordinator of @kedjom-keku
treeplantermessage_ok.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63138.90
ETH 3290.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89