Howto Use a WIIMOTE as a 4 Dimensional ModWheel w- Alchemy

in #dtube5 years ago


I am using a program called OSCulator to translate wiimote motion data to Midi CC data.
I send the Roll and Pitch to XY 1 and the Joystick to XY 2. This gives me the ability to modulate 4 parameters with one hand. I am also finding that not having your hand stuck to the modwheel pitch bend area is very freeing and natural for performace. This is what I will be using in my band Plaeground from now on.

The first example uses the roll to adjust the filter cuttoff and the pitch to tweak the filter while the joystick does a pitch bend. OSCulator has no way to assign the actual MIDI pitch bend message so i routed the fine tune adjustment to the Y of XY2. I don't like much more than a 1 step pitch bend so it works perfect for me.

The second example uses the roll to adjust the filter cut off and the LFO speed while the pitch controls the LFO Filter depth.

The third example uses alchemys granular mode. The start point is controlled by by the roll. This lets you sweep through a sound and freeze it at any part. In this example I sampled the word "plaeground."

The fourth example is a sample from Elektroplankton, It's the same concept as the previous example execpt it's slightly more musical. There are a lot of drips and bell sounds that you can "find" in the motion, play with and then slide to another sound.

The fifth example uses the same technique as before but with the addition of a polyphonic ringmodulator whose frequency is controlled by the pitch. Very fun for alien voices.


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69624.90
ETH 3615.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73