AK suited on the big blind

in #dtube6 years ago


Got AK suited while on the big blind. Don't believe I played it all the well. Would like to hear some comments about what could of been done.


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Do you know what the other player had? Some people are able to see the history of hands. I think you made the right call. button probably had pocket pair >9's but that is just my opinion. I also like slowplaying good hands on the BB every 1 out of 5 as well.

No unfortunately I don't know what they had but I agree. You read them like I did. A pocket pair of some quality. A 4 bet preflop followed by jamming the flop Is usually pretty strong. Very well could have been pocket aces or pocket kings. Thanks for your comment.

nice video :) good luck

Thank you for the view and reply

Pre flop the 4 bet was a little light, and priced all of the button raising range in, he is paying 275 to win 725, 2.5 return for each coin he puts in, so calling your raise from the button with Any A10+ A suited or connected suited has value. A raise to 525 is more of a standard raise which would be 3x the button bet.
If we are calling to a 4 bet. I think we should be prepared to call the flop expecting to be bet at on the flop. The Flop is certainly in the range of button hitting something, However with the 4 bet pre, I would be putting the button on an over pair to the board. Calling here tho to the flop bet would be a mistake , and a fold or raise to put the button all in is the only plays there. Calling there would do nothing, as would expect the button to barrel again with the last of their chips.

Should we of been in the hand Yes, A K suited on the BB is too strong a hand to fold,
Should we of raised the button. Yes absolutely . The Buttons range is very wide and can often only be a dream.
Should we have called the 4 bet. Here I am not so sure,. with not having knowledge of the player. A 4 bet does narrow his range quite a bit, and it is unlikely that they 9 10 suited or low pairs, and the 4 bet not been an all in shove, I doubt the pocket pair he would be holding are lower then 10's or jacks, You hold blockers to the AA and KK, tho they can still be there.
So the call of 4 bet to see the flop is debatable and more knowledge on the player is needed,, maybe with time you can learn that one, But is not a bad decision I dont thin, we hold strong suited cards, and a flop might be worth to call we are getting priced in at 2-1 with our strong cards.

The flop is a fold or push over him, and let the cards play out ,, essentially hoping for a coin toss from the flop. Good fold I think, only a good call on the flop if you hit your A's or K's and he has Q's

Flwd and up'd

Thank you @brayias for that very accurate analysis. I noticed as I posted and I admitted to during the hand what you described very kindly. I 3 bet very lightly just raising to 400 from their raise of 175. If I made it 550 or 600 they might jam from there instead of making it 1225. From my call of 1225 its fairly easy for a good pocket pair or even another AK, maybe even AQ to play in position when checked to after that flop of 963 rainbow. Since they had about 1/2 my stack I think it would of been correct to 5 bet all in and hopefully have a coin toss for the pot. Worst case they have AA or KK and I am a 20% dog in the race but that's poker.

im not a Pro , Still learning, things. But if any time I can offer an opinion, Just holla out

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Potplucker from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60832.04
ETH 2902.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55