You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My Life Behind China's Great FIREWALL

in #dtube5 years ago

Ha ha, bad boom bada... BING? I think you're right, no one uses bing.com in other countries.

Hi @kenanqhd, just stopping by on my PassionSeven77 curation plan to upvote and check out your amazing post.

I had a friend who lived in China with his wife for 15 years and that was one of his complaints, the strict internet control. We used to Skype, and I remember him telling me in an email once not to talk about certain things as the government would be watching lol. The mad thing is he was probably right. Him and his wife made the decision to move back to the UK when his eldest son turned 6 years old because he worked in a school and he said that he didn't want his son growing up with the levels of nationalistic indoctrination that happens, particularly in high school. I'm not sure if he was being a little dramatic and just wanted to move back to UK anyway and that was an excuse.

It's kind of crazy that dtube and other decentralized services work and youtube/twitter doesn't. Good for steem though lol


If you want to read more about what I’m doing with PassionSeven77 curation plan, and why, check out this post:

https://steemit.com/dtube/@raj808/hcu2nbo9

P.s. this isn’t spam, I’m not after votes on that post, it just explains why I’m doing the rounds to vote people who created Znap7 posts for NathanMars project every day 🙂

Sort:  

When you belong to the race or ethnicity that is included in the “nationalistic indoctrination,” its called patriotism. The British Empire and USA werent formed by a bunch of liberal, all-inclusive people. They too were formed by nationalistic ethnocentrics. Since were not Chinese, we may point a finger and call them brainwashed, but we being a bit hypocritical arent we?

I have been working at a Chinese high school for over 4 years. What they do is patriotic and helps unite them with their country so that they can work towards a common goal. All countries that are developing their power and economy need to be nationalistic or else everyone becomes complacent and only looks out for themselves.

Fortunately, dtube and busy are working, but things can change. Reddit and Pintrest used to work for me without a VPN, but they are blocked now.

Posted using Partiko Android

Since were not Chinese, we may point a finger and call them brainwashed, but we being a bit hypocritical arent we?

I didn't point any fingers. And I wasn't being a hypocrite. I'm not pretending to have any experience of life in China, just recounting something I was told.

As to what you're saying about the US and UK, I completely agree that they weren't formed by liberal... Or all inclusive people.

All countries that are developing their power and economy need to be nationalistic or else everyone becomes complacent and only looks out for themselves.

However, we have fundimentally different outlooks on 'so called' patriotism/nationalism so it's probably not worth a debate.

I'm glad that dtube and busy are at least working and I hope you get the VPN back up and running soon.

Posted using Partiko Android

I wasnt referring to you by pointing fingers. I was referring to your friend and the general populace that does so. I know you dont have experience in China so I wasnt directing it towards you but responding as if you were your friend.

Posted using Partiko Android

Ok, no worries.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59740.56
ETH 3011.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79