First time the bees are checking out a new home I built for them

in #dtube5 years ago (edited)


With spare scrap wood I built an enclosed home for the solitary bees to build their nests in better conditions. In the South we get very strong thunderstorms with straight line winds. We call it raining sideways and ive noticed it breaks down their mud walls a little bit.

It would seem the bees know better to build a home where the elements would affect the homes structure too much. So a few 2x4 homes I built for them were not being used. I removed those unused homes from where they were and moved them into the bee house. In this video I moved a bamboo home into the house and about thirty minutes later a Bee came across it.

About half way through the video (13 minutes in) the bee can be sticking its head out of the bamboo tube. Turns around and goes back in to further build the home it was working on.

Around 15 minutes in near the end of the video, I pull the camera out and all the curious bees can be seen buzzing around. I slow down the video as they fly quite erratic and its hard to see them. Seems they are happy with the home and since building it I see them using it every day.

At the moment the bee home is resting on a chair, but I plan to possibly hang it or build its own legs.

Mirror: https://bit.tube/play?hash=QmStijbChoRpaL5U54Vw1cVLUrpAGmnyxJNiX2H54QVZNy&channel=74331

Addresses below to help me buy better camera equipment and support me to travel to locations to do photo and video and overall great blogs in new places. I would be happy to list some of the contributors in my posts for donations that help me along the way.

CoinAddress
BTC:bc1qhfmvd2gywg4fvrgy2kkkkyqta0g86whkt7j8r7
LTC:ltc1qdyzm5cwgt8e2373prx67yye6y9ewk0l8jf3ys9
DASH:XkSqR5DxQL3wy4kNbjqDbgbMYNih3a7ZcM
ETH:0x045f409dAe14338669730078201888636B047DC3
DOGE:DSoekC21AKSZHAcV9vqR8yYefrh8XcX92Z
ZEN:znW9mh62WDSCeBXxnVLCETMx59Ho446HJgq

For more information on how I do my photography I have a short video on that: https://steempeak.com/photography/@solominer/vqgcrs3x


Rockin Steemians
#fridaysrock by @nat-expressions

#rockhound & @rockhounds by @bitfiend

#shadowphoto by @melinda010100

#mineralmondays by @rt395

#bouldersunday by @shasta

#GTWCA (Crypto Price Analysis) by @gandalfthewhite


PlatformURL/Username
Steemhttps://steempeak.com/@solominer
D.Tube
Wekuhttps://main.weku.io/@solominer
Bit.Tubehttps://bit.tube/solominer
MithrilSolominer
DiscordSolominer#4248
Bitcointalkhttps://bitcointalk.org/index.php?action=profile;u=83228
CryptoPanichttps://cryptopanic.com/solominer
Whaleshareshttps://whaleshares.io/@solominer
Bearshareshttps://bearshares.com/@solominer

HyedqTBryV.gif

thanks @nevlu123 for the animation

#masonbees #diy #woodworking #carpentry #actioncam


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS

Sort:  

finally, they liked the house that you built lol

@cityofstars hah yeah they have good cover in this home, so it seems like its going to prime bee real estate next spring.

Posted using Partiko Android

This sounds really awesome!
But @dtube is not loading for me currently :/
I will be back watching, when it works :D

Posted using Partiko Android

@cwow2

Thanks, its been alot of fun and I really enjoy watching them. Oh damn, I increased the connections to the video so please try again it should work now. I will also add a mirror link shortly to bit.tube and that almost always works.

I let it load for 2 mins and could watch 10 seconds before it had to buff again x)
It might be on my end, but not sure why.
I will just come back now and the until it loada proper xD

Posted using Partiko Android

Ah okay if you cant get the dtube video to work I posted a mirror link in the description.

Loading...

An Apiarist ey? Cool stuff! :]

@caalamus Honestly I did not know what an Apiarist was but since looked it up yeah I guess I am a bee keeper. Though they do not produce honey, but pollenate all the plants near by.

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh yeah? What kinda Bees are they? Carpenters?

Mason bees and Resin bees, both solitary. We have Carpenter bees though they are more destructive and I try not to give them homes.

You handle bees?

Nope, not any more. I live in a City of 210k. I used to live with some Bees though :]

@caalamus luckily solitary bees dont need as much space as honey bees. You can buy the bees and homes for them on ebay and I may start selling them as well.

Since mine dont produce honey I may just build a pollen traps for them as they do collect alot of pollen.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61672.72
ETH 2996.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78