Isn't being vegan unnatural ? - VLOG 14

in #dtube6 years ago (edited)


Many people don't want to follow a vegan diet because they think it's unnatural.

In this video I explore this question from different angles.

Join DCooperation - Let's make videos together


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS

Sort:  

Humans have evolved the way we have because of changing our diets and adding meat. Hunter - gatherers.
The way we consume meat in the modern era is not natural though and we consume far too much processed and refined foods, this includes non meat products. Like everything in life, balance is needed.
I tried going vegetarian for a month and I hated it, both selecting non meat products and the unsatiated feeling after eating.
I also will eat a big mac at Mcdonalds and hate that feeling as well, processed and ready to order is not how humans are supposed to eat.
The best diet lies somewhere in the middle

There's a lot of evidence that humans evolved the way they did not because of meat, but because of cooking starchy plants and thus getting a source of preformed glucose with greatly increased energy availability to human tissues with high glucose demands, such as the brain, red blood cells, and the developing fetus.
(source - https://www.journals.uchicago.edu/doi/abs/10.1086/682587?journalCode=qrb )

Sorry you felt unsatiated on a vegetarian diet, it's probably a matter of habit and adaptation - one month is not such a big period to change your palate, changing diet is always a big deal. Did you eat low fat vegetarian diet? Did you try meat substitutes?

There is also evidence that consuming a high meat diet with little to no starchy foods allows our bodies to perform at peak levels. The ketogenic diet is much more than a fad.
I Will never do vegan again, just not for me or for most humans, however I do believe that moderation is needed and the amount of meat and processed meat that we consume as a species needs to be changed

I think most diets are fads to be honest. The gluten free diet, the keto diet, the cavemen diet or whatever it was called...Moderation is key as you say, and we do need protein, but that doesn't mean that we need to kill animals to get protein when we can get it elsewhere.

Veganism is not a diet, it's more like a philosophy. Yes, we changed our diet obviously, but also the way we live, being more conscious of things around us, especially when it comes to being kind to animals.

I agree that it is more of a philosophy than a fad/diet. As for killing animals, I agree that factory farming and depriving animals of their natural habitat is absurd, but killing animals for subsistence is fine. most animals are omnivores, as are most humans. Overpopulation is just as big a factor as endangered animals. Being kind to animals is one thing, but it is not going to stop me from eating them

just because we can eat animals, it doesn't mean that we have to... And subsistence is totally possible without meat. Then why to cause unnecessary (tremendous!) suffering?

When we use animals to help us farm our crops is that unecessary suffering? When we domesticate animals and keep them locked in cages is that suffering? When we use animals for testing and experiments is that suffering? Some of these things are part of evolution and the reason humans have made such big advancements. There are certainly better practices that we should usebut i have to disagree with not eating animals as a form of subsistence

As a cat, I would probably famish and die from a vegan diet. I have noticed my human trying to be more vegan and eat less meat.. I hope she does not famish from lack of meat. Who will give me belly rubs and wet food if she famishes away into dust from lack of meat protein 😿

I don't think that a cat think like a human. His place is outside not in a house without fresh air.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by clixmoney from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

I think the original concept of veganism has been lost on people because of the cult like superior than though attitude that many of its advocates tend to have once they switch over

There are health benefits to reducing your meat consumption but it doesn’t mean all meat is bad!

Unfortunately, like with any group you have a mix of everything (and unfortunately also some people with attitude). Don't let that give you a bad impression of vegans, because the common goal all vegans have is to reduce our carbon footprint, be kind to animals and be healthy. =)

Oh I agree with the principle of sustainable consumption and health benefits and I agree every movement will have those advocates that were obnoxious before they were even vegans they simply investing their energy in a new way and that's more of a personal thing

I just feel it should be less tribalism when it comes to these sorts of things like im this label you're that label. At the end of the day we all want whats best for the world and each other

I couldn't agree more. I hate giving myself the vegan label...In fact I don't call myself that =).

Well you seem pretty reasonable and have restored a little bit of faith in my view of people with alternative diets. I gave you a follow and checked out some of your content! Ah it makes me want to travel ive not yet been to the americas :) but its on my list

Lol I'm also not a fan of labels either people are always trying to categorize you! Like when i do travel im called Hispanic, Indian or Arabic but i'm actually a mixed race African lol!

ah I'm glad to hear that, @chekohler =) I followed you back!

Eve, thank you for replying to some of the comments, I get little time to spend at the computer, and your responses are very reasonable and friendly, probably better than mine ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 63055.19
ETH 3036.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71