Me Drumming At A Gig With My Old Band in 2016 - Enjoy The Show

in #dtube5 years ago (edited)


This is a clip of a softer original rock song from a show at a pretty good venue in my city. For your convenience, I trimmed out the long intro. I hate long intros because they often kill the momentum of the set and the crowd's energy level.

The song was written by the singer, Aaron, so it's not mine.

I came up with my parts and influenced the song at the end by refusing NOT to play anything but half time at 2:08 in this video. It was a small victory with a stubborn band leader, but it was a nice switch before the outro. As minor as it was, it served at a nice change of pace and was my favorite part of the song.

Since this a live performance recorded up close, the sound will be muddy and the lead guitar/bass were too grungy in the mix. My toms also weren't mic'd well. Hindsight is 20 decibels/20 decibels. Wah wah.

In some areas, venues have a house kit you need to use, so you have to deal with what they have and adjust your parts to fewer drums. I'd usually bring extra cymbal stands/cymbals, but if there was only one high tom instead of two, you had to work with it.

If you'd like to hear me playing on clean studio recorded tracks, check out my other recent posts with pictures of me behind the set.

Heavy - https://steemit.com/dtube/@steemmatt/nv1gtos3

Medium heavy - https://steemit.com/dtube/@steemmatt/kvo2xyki

Thanks so much for your listening and your support. Each comment means a lot to keep opening up a bit more with this.

I'll be at a music studio tonight rehearsing with a new group. I'll consider recording some of those sessions if the rest are ok with it.

Thanks as always,
@steemmatt


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

nowadays I'm feeling some power in my fingers and they go with the songs hehe!
do you think I should give it a try? :)

If you haven't started already, please don't let us down. Share any and all musical skills please, whether it's singing, whistling, snapping your fingers, or the air guitar.

I'll try to get the skills down first hehe! hopefully something will come out it hehe :) <3

Nice! I was about to ask if we could see some live play.

Thanks. I actually don't like that song and hate to lead with that example, but I don't have many to work with. I'll just have to make more with this new group.

I understand. But do upload more if you get some recorded!

Ok, you've convinced me to upload one I didn't want to in a few minutes. Hah. Stay tuned!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64534.17
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01