Telling The Night Of My Mom's Accident On The Drums 1 Year Later... Not My Typical "Heavy" Jam

in #dtube5 years ago (edited)


This is a deep and creative drum session. The backstory below will help you understand the symbolism and emotions I tried to convey using sound effects and various feels, such as a heartbeat.

Last year at this time I was racing to a hospital not sure if my Mom would be alive when I got there.

Just before, a flash tornado made a huge tree dive bomb through her windshield while she was driving. I was obliviously playing my electronic drums for @openmic, wearing the same shirt.

As my way of facing these terrible memories tonight, my plan has always been to play the drums at the same time as last year when the accident happened to plow right through it. It worked. Now it's behind me and I'll go call my Mom.

I tried to add sound effects to help tell the story of how I was drumming away while the accident happened, and how I had to find a way to the hospital 60 miles away with no public transportation options after 5 tornados touched down in our region. Fortunately, my baseball teammate came through to drive me there under green skies, with no idea if she'd be alive by the time I arrived (I'm also the closest family member).

I tried to convey how guardian angels clearly saved her, which I detail more in the link and sub-link below. In short, a reporter's picture from the accident scene clearly shows the faces of my Dad, Grandfather, Grandmother and Uncle in spirit form. It's an incredible thing to see, but it explains how a 2-foot wide tree can hit an elderly woman in the face and chest while driving and somehow survive to live relatively normally today. In all reality, the physics don't add up to defend science here.

I posted a bit on the experience and my goals after this point here. Many people are moved when they get into the post and especially the older post I linked within it. If you have some time and want to open up your mind a bit, please start here.

For now, please enjoy the little amateur tribute I made up on the go after about 90 minutes of experimenting. It's not perfect, but my neighbor came home, and I wanted to capture the essence of playing while these events were actually happening last year.

The heartbeat at the end got me to break down a little bit, but in relief that the moment is now behind me as life goes on.

You'll also notice that I even chose an x-ray filter to fit the theme, which also looks a little supernatural.

Backup Link (Snap couldn't be loaded...link works):

Time to call, work out, and then hit the curbs to upcycle goods to help the environment... finally on my terms again.

Thanks for your time,
@steemmatt


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

That worked well. From the glass 'smash', sirens, increased tempo for the drive and heartbeat, the story I read in the links is told in the music. I'm glad you've found a place to 'power through'.

Hmm, you got the right video? This was a straight up classic punk rock cover. ...Thank you very much. I've never tried to play anything like this before, so it was close enough to get the gist and relive some of the moments to put them behind. The reverse cymbal swell also symbolized taking a breath/gasping, and the early sparkle-like cymbal roll was the best I could do to allude to the divine intervention at work.

The x-ray filtered vid? That's where I hear all the above :) It's got a little 70's synth feel to it which I like a lot.

That was amazing!! I'm gonna call my mom...

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for listening (and understanding it).

And life goes on and I think these feelings will be back but not as intense as the last and probably less often if you handle them and it looks like you are. Think of it as PTSD which it is. The amygdala and hippocampus need time to digest life with too many stressors.

Wow - has it really been a year? Sorry I missed this post until now. Can’t wait to give it a listen here in a few.

Hope you survived the day and are doing well my friend. ♥️

P.S. Your music told the story. I felt it.

Thank you. It was all in the moment, and did get the moods out pretty well. I just listened to it again before and it got me anxious, so it's probably best to not listen to it for a bit.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64513.75
ETH 3146.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95