You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why do your Shitposts Get More Engagement than Content that Took Hours to Make?

in #dtube5 years ago (edited)

Firstly, NONE of this is directed or applies to you at all.

I feel that 30 minutes of creation time as a criteria for judging the quality and merit of a post to define it as a "shitpost" is a bit off base. To each their own of course, but as you said, a post's value is in the eye of the beholder. Either way, I think it's a terrible qualifier to push as it punishes people who may be efficient writers or bloggers, and degrades their work. Some may take offense, and some won't care because they don't need validation from others.

Personal Examples:

  • I post a 5 minute drum video cover that looks like I just recorded myself for that long and put a little blurb with it that took me 5 minutes to write. It took me 3 hours to get that 5 minute take. I almost always get no engagement from these. Aside from doing video editing and snap photo work (which I don't feel the need for), this is max effort. However, if I get lucky and get a perfect take in the first 15 minutes, and upload it within 30, it's now shit in the eyes of this criteria? Hell to the no.

  • I write a joke punchline to a gif or picture that's two sentences, with a clever title and a funny tag or two. This may look like it took me 1 minute to write, but trying to create intelligent jokes from scratch with small hooks and puns woven in most might not get takes a while. Getting the right flow and word choice down also takes a while. It also takes a while to surf around for the write gif to inspire the joke, or to fit the joke I had in mind. Sure it may take me 10 minutes at best, but sometimes it takes me 30 or more because I'm lost having fun in the process or stuck laughing about it. A few people reply laughing, joking back, and/or saying thanks for the laugh they needed during a bad day. I tend to get the best engagement from these. Technically, all of these would be classified as shit by the first definition above and that's unfair.

  • I post exercise update progress posts with before and after shots to promote fitness and dedication. The post certainly took me less than 30 minutes, but I spent countless hours exercising for months to show results good enough to help people see that it's possible. Does this mean I'm trying to get cheap upvotes and engagement by showing my body? Nope. It's about giving people inspiration to dedicate themselves since I led by example. Not shit in any way, but it technically could be if people use 30 minutes as a criteria.

  • I've spent hours on other posts that get nowhere with rewards unless one whale happens to see it. However, I do find that when I open up about very personal/emotional stuff, the engagement flows more naturally. Obviously, these are quality posts, but they often get rewarded like shit, because most larger stakeholders have tunnel vision for promo-steem stuff, even if it's pure fluff.

True Shitposts:

  • I personally think the Instagram-story-like snap posts are turning into the "shitposts," promoting less effort for the same rewards. I see people changing their posting to be more of this style, and I personally disagree with the value these vanity posts generate for very low effort. It's shortcut city. It's training people to do it more and call it "adoption of a new app," while humble-bragging more often about mostly nonsense. I also don't view applying enhancement filters and blemish correction editing as quality effort.

  • Posts obviously and transparently part of a voting ring or for self-voting purposes. Can't miss em.

Great engagement topic. You got me hook, line, and sinker.

Sort:  

oooh bring the FIRE. I love it. Sometimes I enjoy making posts like this that are slightly controversial to give people a space to share their thoughts!

Ok here's a couple response I have to thinks mentioned in your comment:

First of all, I think you are totally right about the 30 minute mark being a poor marker. After seeing a few people use that as a marker, I thought that seemed kinda reasonable -but you are right that time spent really shouldn't be how things are judged. It just doesn't encourage people to work "smarter not harder". When in reality, people get more efficient and proficient at their craft and are able to cut down the time it takes to create something and that is a GOOD thing.

Second... I'm actually going to disagree with you on instagram-story like snaps! Instagram is quickly becoming the "king" of social media and it's because tons of people actually enjoy consuming content that includes a photo (although yes, somewhat vain) and an inspirational statement. That being said, I am seeing a shift on instagram where more and more creators are writing several paragraphs to go with their photos because they are realizing that it creates stronger bonds with their audience and gives them a chance to connect. I would also point out, that if someone is taking the time to apply filters and blemish removal etc.... then they probably (well, maybe) put in a little more effort to the photo in terms of finding good lighting, putting on a cute outfit, finding a good background etc. I'd way rather see photos that have some filters and intention behind them than a photo that was shot quickly with no thought and posted up. But that's just me. :)

Thanks for the thoughtful response! I really enjoyed reading your comment!

Round 2. Ding ding!! Ha.

RE: Intagram-like stuff, I hear you, but you (in a good way) also see this through the lens of someone who puts MAX effort into anything to ensure its quality. I know there are others who put a lot of thought and unseen effort into those types of posts, but I think you're a rare breed on Steem in this respect.

I'm talking about the other types of posts I'm seeing on Steemit where people are taking any random picture/selfie of them doing any random daily task, putting a descriptive or copied inspirational sentence, and calling it a post for their voting rings.

I won't name names, but it's them strictly being lazy in my view and a "shit post" to me nearly every time when it's rote material. In the past, these people at least wrote a bit more, now it's a low grade pic with a sentence about them doing something normal, posted with appics to "adopt it," and virtually nothing else. Perhaps the demand for this is sadly there, but I've seen their posting habits devolve into more of this shallow stuff and much less writing or effort. Others see this and then follow this hollow strategy. I feel people are abusing this significant shortcut to earn the same rewards they would via their normal posts. I think this could be ok for me IF there was some deep symbolism or artistic intention behind the shot, but it's often hard to find. Also, I'm talking about this on Steem only.

As for the filters/blemish removal, it wasn't so much about the effort in hindsight. I'm coming from the angle that I personally loathe when people use filters to make makes themselves appear unnaturally different than who they really are. People remove lines, soften features, make themselves look younger, etc., and that feels wrong to me. There's a difference between enhancing the light or tone, and reshaping who someone is cosmetically to deceive themselves and others as to who they really are. I also feel that this is training people to be insecure and hyper-critical of themselves for no reason, just to fit into this shallow thumbs up/down culture where people don't feel secure presenting themselves without erasing parts of their features.

In sum, if someone has to take a picture and has a pimple or a fresh cut on their face or arm, sure go and edit it out. But if someone needs to keep removing wrinkles/bags under their eyes with filters and brush tools, perhaps they should drink more water, treat their skin from the inside, and actually try to improve themselves instead of presenting that they don't have them, which is deceptive when you see them in person. Or, they can just accept that aging is part of life and can be celebrated, versus a laugh line being the end of the world for content consumers of this ilk.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63814.67
ETH 3194.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90