Men’s mental health month: How I handled my dark period through skateboarding and music

in #dtube4 years ago (edited)


When I realised it was men’s mental health month I decided to make a small video showing how I got through some hard times by going to my local skate park ,getting clips and making little skate videos.

I also talk about my experience in going through counselling therefore admitting to myself that I needed help.

The music is a collaborative piece I wrote when I was going through my dark days called “When the darkness comes” and features violin and production from my fellow Steemit musicians(@buckdurdle and @davidfar).

By going out and filming some skate clips, that gave me motivation to make music for the skate clips and produce artefacts for friends ,family and strangers to view on social media.

There is no harm in asking for help and you will feel better by doing so. Google mental health services on the NHS , call the Samaritans or follow the fantastic new instagram account the @benraemersfoundation. You can also of course speak to me.

Have a good day/time/life it will get better


▶️ DTube
▶️ YouTube
Sort:  

This is a #Steemskate Hall fo Fame video dude! What can I say? Just brilliant
Resteemed by @steemskate

I remember all that #steemskate footage like it was yesterday bro, especially that flip bs 5-0 at 5:10.
Glad that skateboarding helped you through such hard times, it is the best thing to do when feeling down!

Much love and shred for another 40 years!

Thanks it's been an awesome experience and made even better by meeting my fellow skaters who just go out and skate

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi stickchumpion,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Hi stickchumpion,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Hello Hello!

I like how you developed the video with your skate, nice presentation, keep it up!

Greetings from Venezuela ♡

Gracias ...being from Venezuela you know all about hardtimes so thanks so much for reaching out

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you for sharing this personal experience. Physical health and mental health is very important. We must find the best ways to be right with oneself and with our surroundings. A hug @stickchumpion

Aahhh thank you so much . With my skateboarding, music and now new editing talent . I had to tell this story . I learnt more about editing through going skating and making little videos as opposed to staying in doing nothing . I had to do it for my sanity. Thanks for reaching out

Posted using Partiko Android

dear @stickchumpion, it is interesting to hear how you dealt with your problems, I think it would take more moments of sharing for this kind of illness to have more support and to have some suggestions to get better from people who understand what you feel because they are like you! thanks for sharing

Thank you so much for the comment . I have received alot of positive messages from both steemit and other social media when I posted this . So intend to keep going .

Posted using Partiko Android

yes, I think that talking about this type of disease and promoting a kind of awareness, both for those who are ill and for the people who are next to them, is important. because so many times these people feel wrong, they are ashamed and they can't talk to anyone. opening a door to dialogue is fundamental

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61185.89
ETH 2933.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68