My Take On The #Blocktalk With Ned Scott & Adrien M: Celebrating The Vision Of Steem, Fighting Copyright Abuse And Underlining The Untouchable Value Of Steemit.com

in #dtube6 years ago (edited)


How often do we get the chance to have Steemit's CEO Ned Scott @ned and the creator of DTube Adrien M @heimindanger on the same screen? Not too often. Thanks for the opportunity @blocktalk!

The get together was hosted by Alex Sterk who had even invited some people to witness the talk live from their studio in Vancouver. Great move!

I very much enjoyed the whole conversation, so I figured it could be nice to publish my own thoughts on the given information.

Just click on the small image above in order to watch my vlog.

By the way: @kaykunoichi thanks for recommending me to put a surfboard in the back while recording my videos - now it looks less official as you said and more like a real surfer's studio :-)

I'd be curious to know your impressions from the #blocktalk!
The comment section is yours :-)

Marly -

PS: If you haven't seen the talk yet, here's the publication from @blocktalk, and in case you weren't able to display my vlog on DTube, here'd be the YouTube version:


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Yeay!!! The surfboard!!! ^^ And even when Steemit is getting less important to the creators... WE decide, what is important to us! :-)

It's actually a surfboard I haven't ever been using so far. A friend gave it to me when he moved from the Canary Islands to the US. He said: One day you'll be ready to ride it. That day still hasn't come since it's a quite small one. But anyways... what were we talking about? Ah Steemit! Haha, yes we'll provide it with the needed attention.

Okay... maybe the day to ride it has just come! But you ride it in another way than usual. XD

I didn't know that steemit.com wasn't a priority any more? Are there any links to discussions on this? I was curious to find out more about it. I'm glad you covered this as again I was unaware. Good to see and hear you as it just takes your posts to a whole other level. Go ride that board! You can do it even thought it's a smaller one :) Should be more maneuverable and faster right? Harder to balance?? I still think you could do it.

Well if the CEO says that Steem can't succeed until Steemit.com is dwarfed by other applications built on the same blockchain, then the future vision is pretty clear :-) I can't see anything negative about it. The value will be brought by all these new apps and the traffic they generate.

Still being a Steemit.com veteran it feels like moving from one country to the next leaving a good old friend behind :-)

Go ride that board! You can do it even thought it's a smaller one :) Should be more maneuverable and faster right? Harder to balance?? I still think you could do it.

The larger the board the easier to balance. Also the smaller the board the faster. The one of the video setting is a 6.0, and the board I'm currently riding is a 6.4. So there's two steps in between (6.4 -> 6.2 -> 6.0). I guess I need one more summer to be ready for that speed board :-)

Thanks Marly!

My suspect internet week has meant I've missed a lot of video content and so this has been really helpful for me to catch up on the #blocktalk show you discuss.

We have known for a while and blogged about Steemit being a 'test' but yes, it is a little saddening to hear it from @ned.

I wonder how long it will last though? Perhaps we are here for a while yet? I certainly hope so!

Thank you!

You told me to blog post every day in order to make you win your bet, so here I am!!! :-D
Haha, I'm just kidding.
Glad that you could catch up on the recent talks thanks to my blog post. I only found this one thanks to a link shared in the dtube channel on discord. Imagine: I always said that I don't like chatrooms, but now I really recognize their right to exist and additional value the more time I spend there.

We have known for a while and blogged about Steemit being a 'test' but yes, it is a little saddening to hear it from @ned.

Yeah that's been also my feeling when I listend to the talk. But then I tried to do one step back and look at the bigger picture. Actually it's not the worst strategy attempting to bring more value to the blockchain through additional applications. Still, no matter how successful all these following apps might be, Steemit.com is the untouchable no. 1 - for the simple reason that it was the no. 1 built on the chain :-)

Have a nice Sunday eve, Asher!

Good! Keep going 😛

I'm glad you have more positive vibes towards the chats, as per previous replies I think they do have their place here.

The likes of dtube and utopian have really sent our active users flying, and I think this has also impacted the prices too. It's these platforms, along with SMTs, that will grow the network - I don't remember seeing a blogging site becoming a world dominating website on its own. Think of the 'addon' apps that Facebook has, 1000s of them.

Luckily for us, we are using these apps and are here early - this year has started so well and I think the future for our Blockchain looks very promising.

Steem on Monday, we are going to see the Indian Ocean 😁

The likes of dtube and utopian have really sent our active users flying, and I think this has also impacted the prices too. It's these platforms, along with SMTs, that will grow the network

Fully agreed!

The Indian Ocean - wow! That sounds not too bad :-) Enjoy your time!
Steem on

What give steemit value: the people. This is the kind of value that I like

I guess steemit will always be a big part of the community obviously and after this phase of development and entry of the new apps and websites connected to the blockchain and the SMT tokens I guess Steemit will get a refurbishment. Because in the end all the info is being posted on Steemit.... Unless in the future You can access the blockchain without going through steemit.com ! :P

But I like Your point of view! :D

Actually, everything is posted to the Steem blockchain, not Steemit.com and the blockchain is already independently accessible for anyone with the tech knowledge! dTube, Busy.org, eSteem, Steepshot, Zappl, dmania.lol, BeScouted, dLive, dSound, ChainBB, and more are all websites & apps currently up & running that use Steem.
In many cases people may already be discovering these other platforms first and only ever use Steemit.com for account creation. Much of the content you see on Steemit was not created on the Steemit website. It’s already an amazing expansion and primed to grow much more in the next year!

Thanks for jumping in, great comment!
Since Steemit.com displays content that is published via other applications it may look as if the content was actually created and hosted here. I'm pretty sure that's confusing to many new users, but with time they'll perfectly understand how everything works.

But that is the thing... now no matter where you upload if it is connected to the blockchain it is actually being hosted on steemit.com . Thats why when a lot of this new sites and apps connected to the blockchain came out people were overwhelmed with the amount of content on their feeds coming from all the places.

I know that and I am uploading through a lot of that webaites and apps... but now as you said you always have to create your account on steemit.com and the heart and base of the blockchain it is connected to it.... there is no way of you to poat in the blockchain without going through steemit.com !!!!!! When the SMT come that will be different because that projects wont need anymore the connection to steemit to get access and post on the blockchain. But it is true that a lot of people are just using steemit to register and just uploading using one of the many possibilities to upload content on the blockchain. But i think this year will be great for the steem blockchain.

Also me saying you look official was a compliment. Didn't mean to pressure you in to the surfboard display hehe but i do love it!

Haha, there was no pressure I just loved your idea and implemented it right away :-)

Such an awesome board!!

An interesting story to read and see.
Please help us to follow in the footsteps of success in steemit
https://steemit.com/busy/@ahyalfazari/the-process-of-making-asam-sunti-aceh

Nothing to say more dear @surfermarly, waiting for more informations...

I like that there is talk about organizing the Steem homepage into communities. The belief that the Steem platform will only be successful if its built upon by others. If we can attract more creative and talented people to the platform, I believe, Ned, will have his 100,000 entrepreneurs in less than five years. Steem on!

great dtube media

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59071.36
ETH 3001.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66