Street Smart Cowboy: Life's Surprises 101

in #dtube6 years ago (edited)


An amazing encounter with a Stranger that became a true friend. Stepping out of your comfort zone definitely has it's rewards.

We have all been struck in our hearts by seeing the panhandlers, beggars, and homeless. Holding various handmade signs, that spell out their immediate need, most of us turn away with the typical rationality, they just need to get a job, they are just lazy or some think they are cons or criminals.

They are castigated as drunkards or addicts, stopped caring about themselves and just let everything go. But truly, nothing could be further from the truth, even though there are bad actors in every compelling play, a hero always emerges out of the chaos.

In my past I've been guilty of thinking some of those same things sitting at the stop light watching the lady with a sign asking for help, repressing the guilt, wondering if they are for real.
Yet in the Sea of so much neediness, sorrow, and dispair...

A hero....a Gyspy Cowboy, a real Cowboy. Sporting a costume thats straight out of the best of the Leone/Marrconie films.

Thats what it felt like, the day I was getting my morning caffeine at Burger King, as I got to the car I heard the sound of boots walking confidantly behind me.

I turned around, and there he was, with his Leather Cowboy hat, leather (pants), and a Cowboy Flying Duster, Vest and boots, minus the spurs, walked straight up and said:

Good morning Maam, my name is Lee,
Before I could say anything, still mesmerized by his approach, He continued, "See that sweet lady over there", he gently pointed to a crouched, bundled up, woman with a yellow beany, holding a cup, sitting on an outside table; it was cold.

Maam, He said with even a softer tone, She's cold, she is not going make it out here on the Street any longer. May I ask you to take us to a shelter that can keep her out of the cold....then a silent pause ......

He then looked at me, seemingly tracking the empathy that arose on my face. "Where is this shelter" I replied . My car was full of boxes and blankets that I had not taken to my storage, but I could sense Life, giving me a grand opportunity to give, and I took it. I moved as much from the back seat as i could.

I noticed that my precious Boy Princey ( poodle) wagging his tail, greeting them like he had not seen Lee and Katie in years, like long lost friends.

This was the safe sign I need to know. If Princey would have growled or barked, I would have had to drive away. He has never been wrong.

Lee smiled, tipped his hat in thanks and brought Katie over to the car.
They both got in and off we went to the destination. It turns out that the Shelter turned them away, the Inn was full so to speak. So they asked me if I would like to have lunch, they were hungry and knew of a place to eat.

Its on me, Lee said, I was gifted a free dinner card from an Old Veteran...he told me to enjoy.
I said yes, I feel honored!
After a late lunch, I drove them around to get supplies, etc. They both shared stories of their lives which where a mix of joy and loss, challenge, and adventure.
Yet, not one time, did I hear a victim or poor me attitude, or even a tinge of manipulation.

He preceeded to tell me that Katie, had lost her husband to cancer a year ago and he lost his wife, and spread her ashes just 4 months ago.
They had found each other, a month or so ago, Lee said, by destities hand.

Lee found out she had her nose broken by a man that said he would help her, later this person began abusing her, Lee said he confronted this man about getting some of Katies things back, and as Lee humorously put it:

The guy was stupid, and made the first move. I sized that rube up as soon as I saw him, and ya know, the dammest thing happened, that feller attacked the tip of my boot with his crotch full force! Then this rube's face flew straight towards the sweet spot of my fist, hitting it pretty dern hard. He just hit the dirt, all curled up like a scared armadillo.

Pitiful sight, didnt have to lift a finger against him. Then the ol boy yelled, "It wasn't fair..." kicking him in his oysters like that! I yelled back you lost your rights to Fair, when you decided to hit Ms.Katie, and steal everything she had,...left.

2018-01-28 22.39.09.jpg

Born in New Orleans, Lee was a world traveler, professional Cajun Cowboy, and Journeyman Welder, not speak of, Horseman and Trainer, Merchant Marine, and just all around good Dude.

As we traveled on, Lee pointed me to a store off the street, and told me to drive beside it. I parked,
They both got out with their things, we all hugged. I had to go before the snow storm, to make it up the mountian. I was saddened they would be left out in the soon falling snow. Don't worry Lee said, as to read my mind, I've got some fuel for my mini stove and bundling up together will get us through the storm just fine, then tomarrow we will be heading back to the Shelter....

I said thank you, for the wonderful lunch, it was the best meal I've eaten because of them. They smiled, and walked to their shelter, built behind the back wall of the store.

2018-01-30 09.49.36.jpg

48 Hours

2 days had passed, and left 4 inches of snow, with its white yesterday, burning off, by the next morning sun.

During that time, I kept seeing them dance through my mind, about the stories and their giving. But there was a deep sadness in them both. About lives they had lived before, the trama's and Drama's that Life can bring.

Yet there was still a glimmer, that child like curiousity in Lee's eyes. Conveying, no matter what he's gone through, the fights, the marriges and even getting shot, and the tragic passing of the love of his life, it could not touch that innocence wonder and curiosity, like an lsland oasis, in the middle of a social desert hell.

Somehow, he keep that Lousianna country boy alive, the one that took the big dares and played with frogs, water mociassans and teased the alligators, and knew from a young age how to charm eveyone including the ladies.

That, I still saw in the twinkle in his eye...Katie, I saw a sincere kindness, the kind of a woman that loved to take care of people, but at this point, was unable to take care of her self. There was a fading twilight in her eyes...later I would know why.

Another drive thru Coffee

I drive up to burger king again thinking of Lee's magical way ...iI guess the best way to put it, just completely being himself, no apologies nessesary. And the look in Katie's gentle eyes. I was wondering at that moment about of the "Angels Unaware" stories, Angels, interdimensional beings,or just fiction, what ever you might name them, taking the form of the least likley person, to see what you might do or not do... and...what???...deja vu vu!

Here comes Lee! Pushing a large shopping cart, with all his things, rolling it right towards me.
He moves to the side as I roll the window down,
Well hey there Missy, that right back brake pad sounds like it's had its day, it is biting into the rotor by now,

I know it sounds horrible, I reply.
I dont have the fiat to pay... forgetting he might not know Crypto Lingo,
Aint that a fancy term for funny money? he laughingly quipped, as he bent down to eye my back right wheel.

Yes maam, this got ta go to the shop, that rotors getting dug into pretty good, Maybe I can eliminate the scraping until you get the brake job.

I pulled over. I immediately asked about Katie,
Her sister came an got her off the street yesterday,

How did she know where to find her? You both don't have working cell phones?

Well I kinda imagined it all turning better for Katie, that sorta helps the situation along. I knew Katie wasn't gonna make it out here for long with a broken heart like she has, you can't make it out here, especially if your body can't take the cheap vodka anymore. The next thing is her livers' shutting down...and Lynn,

Pausing.. like he looked through his whole life in that instant and came back again.

I cant have another good woman die on me. I just got finshing spreading my wife's ashes in the virgin Islands,
Just like she asked me to do, on the grounds of her childhood home. I sold everything I had to keep her alive and as comfortable as I could... until the light left her eyes...

I had to devert or I might have gushed right then and there. So I asked him where his Red, Deer Skin Duster was,

Oh yeah... I put it on, in my mind the other day, but I must have taken it off, in last night's dream

As we sat on the curb together, Tears are welling up, but laughing at the same time, in a flash, he could become a poetic humorist like Will Rogers.

He told me that a Cowboy named Dakota was coming by in a while to pick him up to take him to his next job.

But before I go Im going to go to walmart there yander and fetch you some small C clamps. I cant let you go like this with that god awful
Brake noise.
I was surprised that he would go out of his way to do this for me.
How can you fix it?

Well I can just C clamp those back brake lines for now, so that brake shoe wont drag. But you got to promise me, get this thing fixed soon...

With that brotherly admonishment, he took off towards the Walmart near by.

I sat in the car jamming to classic rock on the radio.

That's when the Idea of making a Steem post occured to me, what a great story to share with the community and it will be forever on the BlockChain!

When he came back I asked him if it would ok if I take some Photos and a video.
I estimate I've got the time if you do.
In a in a bit, Dakota will be showing up. I'm hitching a ride to a Fancy Horse Ranch,l got hired for.

He immediately got to work on my car, jacking it up so he could get to the issue.

2018-01-30 09.32.07.jpg

When he finshed, he asked me to drive around the parking lot.There's no more scraping noise from hell anymore, I exclaimed!
He smiled, put all his tools in his cart, so we hung out and talked waiting for his new boss to tote him away.

20180124_115909.jpg

I offered to pay him and he said thats ok, no need. I forced him to take some fiat for his brake job. He finally obliged me. As we chatted, I asked him how he landed the job at this fancy ranch?

Holding up that there sign, on the side of my buggy. So the other day, a pearly white duelly pulled up asking about my skills, and got the job.

What did they hire you for?

Well it's a lot of things, but as l heard from Dakota, these horses are rasied to have attitude, they are the dancing Beauties, Dressage Preforming Champions, so in a way, I'll be taking care of Sophia Loren, and Marlon Brando..if you know what I mean, with that glent in is eye.

20180124_134833.jpg

The Gal that owns the Ranch, has been showing breeding, and competing.
Yep, they are the divas of the Equestrian family,
It will be a good learning time
for me and them...

Just then, Dakota pulled in with his truck. Well there's my ride. We introduce ourselves and as Lee was putting his cart in the bed, I asked Dakota, a very sharp energetic PBR pro rodeo Cowboy, is he on social media? He said yes,

Have you heard of Steemit?

Nope...whats Steemit?

It is Social based Crypto platform that is amazing!

Oh I know about Crypto, I bought into BitCoin in 2011, that's what helped me get this Pickup.
I was blown away!

I told Dakota to check Steemit out and if he's got the money sink in to Steem and just power it all up as a savings, and that the price of Steem is going to rise even if he wasn't inclined to participate.

We all said our goodbyes and Lee was off to his new Cowboy adventure.

2018-01-21 15.28.23-1.jpg

Yet Another gift left behind

A week later, I was cleaning out the back seat of my car. Where Lee had been sitting, was a lovely white billowy feather, just sitting there on the seat. Coincidence I guess, or a nice little favor from the game gods that script these magical scenes~*

I heald it in my palm, remembering Lee, and his Angelic Cowboy way.

2018-01-31 14.07.45.jpg

I truly appreciate your comments, wittisisims, and feedback, on my vids and articles. Please feel free to resteem!

If you like the style of my content, give me a follow, we will both be rewarded!

Sort:  

Thank you adonisabril for making a transfer to me for an upvote of 1.10% on this post!

Half of your bid goes to @budgets which funds growth projects for Steem like our top 25 posts on Steem!

The other half helps holders of Steem power earn about 60% APR on a delegation to me!

For help, will you please visit https://jerrybanfield.com/contact/ because I check my discord server daily?

To learn more about Steem, will you please use http://steem.guide/ because this URL forwards to my most recently updated complete Steem tutorial?

Wow... Jerry the WittnessWhale came by! Oh this is fun!
Thanks

Except for the cowboy thing, he sounds like me! Great story!

Thanks for your comment! Well all we have to do is get you a comfortable Stetson Hat, and many some boots...and a two step lesson, and we are off to the big country dance!
If you have a heart like Lee did, then no wonder I read your blog.
L

Not me Hon... I'm from Boston- we don't do cowboy hats!

Just a thought, enjoy your Bostonian look..I bet it fits you well!

I've lived in the South since 1978 (mostly)... The Southern ladies love my accent- it's sexy lol!!! (Just what every 72 year old guy needs)

Loading...

Miracles come every single day and it's amazing who you can meet if you just keep your eyes open and your heart too.

Voted and sharing!

@Ganjafarmer
Yes this is true what you speak, the state of gratefulness is a really blissful state to be.
Much appreciation for the resteem!
Lynn

Amazing story! I'm giving it a Randowhale vote!

Adonis, gosh thank you very much!
Not just for your generosity, but I know you put out superb article art! Your last piece you did was high end Travel magazine material.
It's really cool you came by and Whaled me!
Very Happy
Lynn

Wonderful story!

I read it from end to end and I just loved it. Thank you very much for sharing.
I hope their luck turns.
Cheers

Hi @the.human.union What a great post and story. I was moved by your words and the experience you recount. This guy, The Street Smart Cowboy really encapsulate the bittersweet idiosyncrasies of the human condition. Our capacity for hope in the face of overwhelming sorrow is astounding and he shows this in both his words and attitude. Amazing! Even though your formatting might not be polished, your descriptive narrative is excellent and really puts me right in your head. Thanks you for sharing this experience :-)

@raj808
Your comment shows me you listened to the words you read, instead of just merely scaning.
' iIt s a long post, Yet I had to tell this story. I guess this is an ode to all those that have lost so much like Lee and Katie, One comes into the art of gratefulness, it's not a moral obligation in it at all...it's just a natural way of living...this is what this story has given me.
Apprication to you my friend!
Lynn

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62772.18
ETH 3032.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67