DTube Videos Are NOT Playing

in #dtube6 years ago

Hello everyone, I have recently started having problems playing certain DTube videos and they will not play. I get the error "The media could not be loaded, either because the server or network failed or because the format is not supported."

If anyone can give me a solution that'd be great! Also, if you have this problem as well, let me know in the comments. I'm curious to see how many people have this issue.

Thanks in advance for the help!

Sort:  

Yes I too have the same problem,a video once working now keeps trying to load until the error message appears. This is the one I have trouble with.

a delete option would be of great benefit on DTube.

I had the same issue, and then I did a bit of reading. I'm sure some of it is slightly inaccurate, but the gist of it is what matters... Someone can correct ;)

When you post a video to Dtube, the video is stored on someone's node. I assume that's like Bitcoin Core Wallet, except it has its own associated coin. Nodes temporarily hold files, so what you've uploaded won't stay there forever unless the following:

1- someone pins your file on their node and it stays put.
2- more people constantly watch your video, allowing more copies of the video to be spawned/fetched/stored on more nodes. And each time a new copy of the video comes to exist, the expiration for your video gets pushed back, keeping it alive longer.

Me thinks I'd better run my own node and pin my own videos...

i have same issues what can i do ?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65229.52
ETH 2946.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67