DIY Freezer Corn

in #dtube6 years ago


Today we put up 3 bushel of corn from my folks from Illinois. We had a lot of fun and made 30 bags of corn that is put up in my freezer for the winter. It's always a good feeling to have that done. We also ate a ton for supper on the cob!!! Good times and yummy food! Thanks for watching!


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Good friends of mine just processed their corn last week and they cut the corn off the cob and froze it....that is some good tasting corn in the winter time!! We can get some good corn to grow here in Illinois!

Yes sir! My daddy brings it to me every year! 😋

Thank you so much for sharing your video.i am a firm believer in a handmade homemade and homegrown lifestyle.and it’s so awesome how your teaching your kids this and getting them involved.its priceless 👍🏽

Thank you! I love working with them and passing on how to work and live more sustainably.:)

Brings back some memories of my Mom bagging up corn to freeze. We used this crazy old cutter board thing that I don't know the name of with old fashion blades on it. Good memories.

Bo swears we have one his grandma gave us but we can't find it anywhere! I think the kids enjoyed it. :)

howdy @thefarmerswife! man I can just imagine having that homegrown sweet corn ..corn on the cob! drenched in butter and sea salt! hey does your dad grow it in his garden or are they farmers in Illinois?

He used to be a hired hand for a farmer and best friend. They give him as much as he wants.

howdy there today @thefarmerswife! oh that's a cool setup, I like free food!

thanks for sharing your experience loved it hoping to get more from you

guys do follow me to get amazing and unbelieveable food facts and posts regarding health

Thanks for watching!

Wow!! We did the same our mom did the same !!!
Love it love it !!

Thanks! Great memory making!

I know right!!
🤗
You have a wonderful day
I think I am your fan club b now
🤗

Very cool! I love corn! I used to grow it in my backyard growing up in California. I am in a Townhome now, with a nice patio garden lol, but can't grow corn very well in pots. That is such a good way to preserve it. I am guessing you have a large freezer. haha Nice kitchen too!

Thank you! I do have a large freezer. We butcher a cow every 6 months so I have lots of freezers! Any garden is awesome in my book! I'm learning slowly!

You are so very welcome! Wow yes you would need lots of freezers!! :) So true, even if just growing like herbs on the window sill. It is so satisfying and therapeutic to grow things.

I agree! I planted herbs on my front porch this year instead of flowers and I have dried so much and used so much. Very satisfying!

That is awesome! Yeah something really cool about growing your own stuff and eating it, no matter and small it is or how much. haha

Love corn on the cob when it is fresh, from the freezer not so much. But taking it off the cob makes is simpler, tastes good and doesn't take up as much room in the freezer.

i need some corn to make my meal sweeter

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60725.43
ETH 2900.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59