Is dTube better than YouTube?

in #dtube6 years ago (edited)


In the past week I've made more USD per video from dTube than I made on YouTube in the past year...

Watch the dTube video above to see what I think about using dTube as a content creator compared to YouTube.

Here's the other dTube video I mentioned: First Travel Vlog on dTube

Thanks for watching!

twitter thelifeofjord.png

If you enjoyed this post then please remember to follow me.

Popular posts:
How I Became a Full-Time Travel Vlogger in Under a Year
Hi I'm Jord and I Get Paid to Travel the World (and you can too..)

You can also find me on:
YouTube - Instagram - Twitter - Facebook - Blog


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Depends on your perspective. In terms of image quality, sound quality, and features, YouTube is fantastic, but in terms of getting rewarded for your efforts DTube can't be beat. My YT channel isn't monetized because that wasn't my first objective, but the need to game the system to get my videos seen is a turn off, and that is ultimately what motivated me to try DTube. Looks like you are well on your way, good luck!

I agree with you on all points actually. I assume dTube will increase their capabilities as it grows - I'd love to see 4K video etc on there too.
As for gaming the system, that's the trouble now with YouTube. I feel like it used to be a meritocracy where creating premium great videos would get the most views. Now I don't feel like that's the case at all and lots of quality videos by good creators just get ignored.

I only shoot video in 4K because the other resolutions do not produce good low light image quality, and I don't control the lights; I get what I get. The draw back to that resolution is that the files are huge. There is too much competition on YT and they seem to favor the bigger channels. I think it ties in with the search engine algorithm where the "well established authority" on any subject gets a higher ranking and is presented first, and naturally gets more attention. That's where gaming the system comes in, but I don't really have time for that.

Indeed we plan to support high qualities than 480p in the future. We are just going to slowly ramp it up depending on our ressources, stability, and the number of users on the website.

At the moment getting rewarded on DTube with some quality video is pretty easy because the website is new and competition is low. Just give it a few months ;)

It's not a complaint, merely an observation. Eventually having 720p would be great as that is the lowest resolution my editor will convert to from 4K, this eliminates one step in the process. Greetings!

I just wonder what will change for Facebook and other sites the internet is buzzing on this site and D-tube
I am new so far i do not focus on the money i focus on the expierence but your right You tube is so dead when it comes to engagement i like it there but it is always about donating and this is why tv will always beat original content we need a platform like steem it to pay us for our contribution into the platform.

It's an amazing time to be part of the steemit platform. Especially since as of this writing smart media tokens have not been released yet.

dtube is the best !!

I can honestly see it becoming huge next year.

if the cryptomarket and the steem get more influence , yes dtube can make youtube useless.
I'm french , and in France, the cryptomarket is not really famous ,i think is 2% of the French know what is the bitcoin , just the bitcoin.

I watch your profile ,congratulation to quit your job and make your dream became true.
(and sorry for the my bad of level of english )

Unless you're Jake Paul or Logan Paul, dtube might just be better! Too many people trying to milk the YouTube Ca$h cow. Dtube is still young and vibrant!

Agreed. IF you're getting millions of views like they are then fair enough, but if you're a small to medium YouTuber/Creator then the rewards here are so much bigger!

I'd still post on Youtube every day or as often as I could if I were you. Also, it doesn't hurt to occasionally promote yourself on Facebook. I do believe that YouTube and Facebook are dieing platforms though. I see big time cable news and media companies taking over YouTube. At least that's what I've heard and the arguments supporting it seem plausible. YouTube rules are becoming less and less friendly towards the individual content creator. Even a lot of the YouTubers with a few million subscribers have seen a drop in their views.

Regardless, as a content creator, you've always gotta work your butt off to post relevant content. Constantly gotta keep upping your game. There's just way too much content being created. The competition is crazy.

In my fair opinion dtube needs much more to do. It can be better then youtube?

Well......if I'm asked this question....as a minnow...I LL say that YouTube is way better ...bcoz we surf there to enjoy ...without expecting anything ....and professional youtubers are happy with it....but D tube is a total mess....u got to be a Personality ist to make a coin out of it

Feeling that You are becoming the funforlouis here on Dtube. Get them. Your videos are amazing and You are awesome. :D keep them coming. Now that Dtube it is working better I will be spending more time here watching videos and finding more video creators :D

How do you earn actually on dtube? by view or like?

all by like, same as Steemit!

might be yeah!

excited to see your first video there!

partner good job. follow me

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60046.04
ETH 2997.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71