You have a problem? - Start by helping yourself! My first NA-Meeting

in #dtube5 years ago


(click to watch video)

this week is starting a new era

for my self development. I visited my first NA-Meting on Tuesday and it was really satisfying and I gained a lot of energy within this 1,5 hours.

If you have any problem, you should first check out if there is a local self-help group targeting on this topic.
NA is a free group for drug addicts where you have the time and people to share your story and daily problems.

If you know someone with a personal problem, feel free to share this video with her/her to motivate.

Peace!

Thanks a lot for your time

... to watch the video and for sharing your thoughts and feedback in the comments. I appreciate every single interaction with me over the

  • comments,
  • resteeming,
  • upvoting and
  • mentioning people in the comments who could be interested in my post.

Chat with me on discord: tibfox_Norman#5331

Follow me on other social media platforms:


You are free to use every piece of content from this if you mention my channel in your post!



▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Hi Norman...

I hope I got your name right? As I heard you say it in the video but wasn't sure I heard right.

It is really interesting listening to your experience as I've been wrestling with issues to do with alcohol. It's a crazy situation as I'm not having a drink more than once every 10 days, but due to a chronic illness, alcohol effects me so strongly. I get super drunk super quick, and get 3-4 day extreme hangovers. This is completely to do with my illness, which is a problem with my digestive system.

Anyway, what I find really challenging is that I know it is bad for me at this time (with this illness especially), but all of my friends are social drinkers, and I get this feeling every now and then where I just want to blow off steam, de-stress and go out. I'll literally see none of my friends if I don't go out to the pub, ha ha it's a bit of a drinking culture here in the UK.

I might try going to a support group but I'd feel a bit like a faker, in a room full of people who are alcoholics, people who have gone through addiction where they need to drink daily. I've never been that way with alcohol.

I'd be interested to hear your thoughts on my situation.

I admire your honesty in this vlog, and congratulations on living a positive life away from addiction. Really, well done m8 🙂

Hey @raj808! You got my name totally right mate :)

Thank you for your honest comment and description of your situation on this my friend. I am happy to be a motivator for you to thinl about going to a group because honestly I think you could get a benefit of going there and in my view and experience I would say you need it.

I just point out what I can read between the lines, ok?

If you are drinking even if you know that your body can not handle it, it is a sign for a big problem. This kind of acting against your mind is one of the big signs for an upcoming or settled addiction. Addiction means not that a person is drinking every day. It is about the recurrence and about the consequences you take on your shoulders for the alcohol and its effects.

The reason why you are drinking is a sign for it as well. If you don't hang out with the others - I would say.. you are trapped.

I know the drinking culture of pubs :P In my social times I was every day in an Irish pub and was the first and last guy there. The pib owner was kind of a friend to me and yeah.. it felt so good to be a part of them but that was a big step into the addiction I need to fight for the rest of my life.

I would say - the members of your (hopefully) future group will welcome you as a honest and smart guy, recognizing the problem and searching for a solution in an probably early stage but it is a stage of addiction. The one and only rule to become a member is - you want to quit it. No matter how much and how often you are drinking. It is all about you - not the others.

I hope you will find the right moment (today is the best ;) ) to get into a group and start your - kind of - new life my friend.
If you have any questions or doubts or whatever, just contact me mate :) I'll be there!

Peace!

P.S. I hope your digestive system problems will become better by this change soon man!
I had some crazy problems with my stomach and they where induced by alcohol and speed.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for your advice and insights on this mate.

If you are drinking even if you know that your body can not handle it, it is a sign for a big problem. This kind of acting against your mind is one of the big signs for an upcoming or settled addiction.

and I think you are right and also, I probably knew this deep down. I'm not really someone who is against drugs/alcohol on a philosophical level as I had many experiences in my youth where creativity was part of that intoxication experience but, having said that, I had issues with addiction in my twenties, which I managed to handle on my own without support and I remember always telling myself then that once the experience stops being fun and is negative, what is the point? And I think this is the important distinction that I realized then and need to start telling myself now. You put it very well when you said

acting against your mind

That is exactly right.

It is about the recurrence and about the consequences you take on your shoulders for the alcohol and its effects.

My mind tells me very clearly that it is damaging and I'm only reacting to the want to go out drinking both based on the social aspect and the memory of when it didn't effect me physically and mentally so severely.

Either way, I think it is a good idea for me to go to one of these groups as I'm not able to puzzle out the psychology on my own like I did when I was 25.

I just point out what I can read between the lines, ok?

You read between the lines really well, and I appreciate you taking the time to provide your perspective and advice. It has really helped me find some clarity.

Thanks again :-)

Hmmm I guess you just made me buy my signature from @zord189 :D I looved it in the video in the top right corner :D Want that as wellllll :D

Yeaaah grab one man! I love the signature. But tell @zord189 that you need it as a videofile as well!
Normally he just renders the signature as a gif and at least my video editor can not handle gifs ;)

Peace!

Whenever i have a problem, i always try to meet people who i know can help me out. they may be group or individual

Yeah this is a good habbit :) In the video I am talking about a selfhelp - group which can help you to help yourself :)

Peace!

Thank you for sharing <3

Thank you for watching and your nice comment @kaerpediem :)

Peace!

You got a 31.78% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @tibfox! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 16 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Fingers crossed. My ex-wife is on alcohol therapy. From great love to hatred. Even after a divorce, I can not get along with her. He meets an alcoholic and my children look at it.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63877.55
ETH 3143.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97