Dtube's Fatal Flaw

in #dtube6 years ago

In many ways, Dtube is everything that I wish YouTube was. However, more and more, I am coming up against the fatal flaw of Dtube. A feature that is so broken that it nearly ruins the entire experience of the website. I speak of the Dtube uploader. To call it garbage is to insult garbage.

I would like you to look at two exhibits. The same video, uploaded to YouTube and Dtube at the same time. Just behold the difference in progress.

blackpantherytup.JPG
dtup.JPG

In a video comparing youtube and Dtube, I said the Dtube uploader is 3 to 4 times slower than the YouTube uploader. I was wrong. It’s got to be more like 10 times slower on an average day.

I am not pointing this out as a Dtube hater. I love the platform. And I think if they could fix this one fatal flaw, it would be the YouTube killer that the creators of the world have long hungered for.

I know that there are probably very compelling reasons why Dtubes uploader is so slow. I just don’t care what they are. The reasons don’t matter. Only the user experience matters. And what we are experiencing is an intolerably slow uploader that is often buggy and unreliable.

I have other grievances with Dtube, but this is the major one. This is 90% of what I don’t like about Dtube. And it’s a real shame, because there’s so very much that I do like about the platform. I hope that they can solve this issue in the near future. I can tell you that if I were them, it would be my absolute top priority by an order of magnitude.

Sort:  

Also I've found that it save a bunch of time if I upload my video to YouTube then download the MP4 from YouTube and upload that MP4 to DTube. Most of the compression is already done and DTube doesn't have to do much more work.

Upvoting this tip. I will try it out next time.

I've been doing that but I find the video quality can be visibly lower than the source upload (there's a bit of blurriness at larger sizes).

Same problem here, My original exported video never works when trying to upload it to Dtube- only when I download my HD video from Youtube can i then use that file to upload to Dtube.

Have you encountered any solutions for the "Error uploading to the blockchain" message? I'm trying to upload my first Dtube video and I can't seem to figure what the hell I'm doing wrong. I've tinkered with just about every variable, yet nothing works.

I had that problem at the beginning. I used to have to wait a really long time and then it would let me finish. You need to wait till all three boxes at the top of the screen have green check marks.

Using the YouTube method fixed that problem for me.

I agree. My only point is that right now, this is what is holding Dtube back. This is what's keeping it from being the heavy hitter and YouTube killer that it can and should be.

lol if just someone like pewdiepie moved here...

Who is "they"?

I agree with you @TJKirk and also seconds @beograd's comment. It is incredibly annoying, especially for someone like you, as majority of your content is videos. In fact i believe that the future of the platform is more video content. Also there's been an issue with videos becoming not visible, which is another serious bug that Dtube needs to address (i dont know if you had that particular issue as well). On the other hand, i have really high hopes for Dtube as it's user count grows... Im basing this on my short experience on Steemit so far... things do improve.

You’re right that it’s slow, but it’s unfair to compare the system to current YouTube when the Dtube uploader is hosted and paid for by a single guy.

If you’re willing to invest some time though, you can encode your videos in the right resolution and format yourself and then also upload the files to the IPFS network yourself. Then you only have to paste the links to the files in the advanced section of the dtube uploader and can bypass the entire thing.

You seem to know a lot about video editing... I started making 360 video on youtube, do you think dtube will support them soon ?

It's better than it was a couple of months ago. I'm sure they'll keep improving on the tech.

I really appreciate that it now compresses the video and puts it in a lower resolution for smoother playback(which is why I think it takes so long.)

As an end-user, I care more about the video quality, 480p just doesn't cut it for me personally.

But I can definitely understand your frustration with the slow uploader, that would drive me crazy too if I had to use it every day and waste my precious time on something that should work out of the box.

Sorry Dtube sucks and give me headaches, i have to upload 7 / 8 times a single video sometimes to make it "work"; most of the time Dtube don't add a sprite, don't add it to ifps thing, or fp480 nonsense, it blocks here and there and here and there, so i use fucking youtube for now and link into my blog posts, or i use youtube as an encoder that lighten my videos RE download the MP4 and try to upload that lighter file to Dtube even if there is loss of quality.

It's not like i give up easily and try and try again and again to upload my videos, but, after a while, spending an hour being frustrated by that shit uploader, I have many other things to do in my day while i work for my little indie game, i can't fuck around that much with obsolete / clunky features. Sorry Dtube, you have to get better or get fucked by competition.

That's as simple as that. get ur shit together it's been more than a year than people complain.

DTube uploads videos into the IPFS network. You can upload videos into the IPFS network yourself and just link them to dtube. This video explains how you do that:

One issue is that there just isn't really the infrastructure to support DTube right now. The servers aren't good enough. Part of that is the fast growth of the site - partially thanks to you TJ! I don't blame you or anything - I joined because of you - but this growth has undoubtedly put a strain on the servers, slowing things down evern more.

I just get "error submitting to the blockchain" notices whenever I try to upload.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61233.41
ETH 2934.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56