You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Is Steem The Underrated Underdog? Trying To Find Some Answers

in #dtube5 years ago

I think we are undervalued, but I also understand why.

We have almost no Marketing, no branding and frankly our roadmap is confusing even to me.

:)

Do we want to grow the community?

Do we want to only grow the games?

Are we or are we not about Free Speech?

...

We've made RCs and Wallets and difficult for end users who would hear about Steem.

I love Steem, I'm here and acclimated but I do get frustrated with us shooting ourselves in the foot so often.

You asked, I had to be honest. Surely we can do better to spread the excitement that some of us still feel.

Sort:  

I always appreciate your honesty @whatsup and am glad you stopped by and commented :-)

It's a double-edged sword. On one hand we need a clear vision, roadmap, marketing strategy etc. which can hardly be created by a whole community. On the other hand we want this to be decentralized, providing literally everybody with a say.

I believe that the other projects do have a big advantage since they realized that you can't build a decentralized world from scratch. You need a group of people who pave the way for the masses, acting as representatives and in favor of the community's interest. You need leadership, at least during the foundation period.

Once the basement has being built, everybody will be able to build their own houses on top of it. But you need those leaders, those arquitects and designers who lay the foundation, who create that brand and give that ship a name and a purpose.

I feel that on Steem we never had that. That's why we don't know who we are and what we stand for today. As you said there are too many options and no clear vision.

I love this place, too, and that's why I like these type of conversations - they may help us to improve.

Have a great weekend :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 65137.70
ETH 3198.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87