#SEVEN77 PUSH-UP CHALLENGE [DAY 5]

in #dtube5 years ago


Here we are again and here's my simple push-up video. I'm going to have to work on my presentation a bit... Three takes didn't take this time but at least the push-ups are always good! haha!

Day 5 has bit the dust! Speaking of which... I'm a stickler for moving joints through their full range of motion. Bringing the nose right to the ground and then moving back the other way right to the top of the movement. That's important to establish complete functional strength throughout the ENTIRE range of motion.

Now here's the thing... When you DON'T do this... When you don't mindfully move through the entire range of motion you are actually creating weak links.

What's a weak link? These are the harder points in the movement and often it is these areas that eventually can turn into potential injuries if your not careful! Moving carefully outside of your usual physical context is what brings strength to the areas that are clearly weak areas of the body.

A lot of people (usually training for reps rather than listening to the intensity of the movement) gloss over proper form (to add up the "extra" reps) because they don't like moving into areas they feel weaker in. But this can be costly over time! If you can't do the rep with the right form then the exercise is to difficult or the weight is to heavy. Modifying the exercise or scaling back the weight is a MUST even if it bruises your ego! Listen to your body. I can't say that enough! :D

Taking the time to move through the entire range of motion is really important if you want to be strong at all points and you want to avoid injury. I mean who want's to get hurt right? No one I know!

The way I see it... 7 reps isn't really a whole lot so NOW is the time to really understand and work on proper form! I guess in future videos I might as well talk a bit about that.

We are talking about the technicalities of form here... and I know that can be a bit dry at times... But I have seen this soooooo many times in my 10 years of personal training... I can't help saying something here and now!

I hope that you got something from this and if you have any questions about what I'm talking about here now and here is the place to comment! :)

I hope that your all doing well!

Let's keep those #Seven77 push-up's coming everybody! :)

wil.metcalfe
Fitness Entrepreneur
Certified Personal Trainer
@BeachReady
@AdventureReady
@Actifit
@EveryStepCounts


WIL-METCALFE-[SELECT].png

[MORE ABOUT WIL] [ACTIFIT REFERRAL LINK]


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Nice job buddy, I am still watching your earlier video, trying to figure out how to do that cool spin move without breaking my neck lol

Posted using Partiko Android

Great job 💪 with the push ups. I will try to remember your good advice while am doing my push ups and ab wheel. I don't want to create weak links.
Thank you for letting everyone know about it.
Let's keep going 👍😁

Posted using Partiko Android

If your not the type of person who is physically aware or in tune with your body and how it moves it’s all to easy to make mistakes of form. Many people only think about repetitions when they are doing exercise. I think that tracking reps is important but shouldn’t be the gage that determines success or failure. First off... failure is your friend in the gym... but only if your listening to the intensity that your body is exerting. The best way to do this is to watch your form and adjust appropriately. As a personal trainer this is probably 50% of what I’m watching for, especially when I’m working with brand new clients.

Thank you for your comment Eric! I have been holding off talking about the BODY component (or compounder as I like to call it) so count this as a little info teaser! 😁

Thank you for the teaser, will be looking forward to the full Body compounder info👍😁

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64359.90
ETH 3105.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87