Western Washington Rough Skinned Newt

in #dtube5 years ago


Just a quick video showing 2 rough skinned newts swimming and hunting in a beaver pond in western Washington.

This is my first video on D.Tube. Been meaning to try out this d.app for a while and I figured this was a good video to start with.

I spotted these 2 newts while working at a nature preserve I manage in Thurston County in western Washington.

These newts are highly toxic so if you see them just look don't touch!

But garter snakes can eat them and only get slowed down from the toxin.

Rough skinned newts are little predators and will eat bugs, tadpoles and other critters. They are fairly common here in western Washington but often stay hidden.

Have you ever seen one?


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

This is my first D.Tube video. Just uploaded it to test out using this d.app. I hope to have more videos up in the future that will be tied to my blog Wild Homesteading.

Edit: Interesting see how this displays on D.Tube versus Steemit/SteemPeak. The extra text under the video does not show on D.Tube so I made this comment to add a bit more. But on Steemit/SteemPeak this comment is a bit redundant since the extra text shows up. Anyways, this is why I wanted to test using the D.Tube so I could start learning all the little things like this :)

We are brand new to this as well and it's definitely different on how it works.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60725.43
ETH 2900.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59