Rhythms+Drums=Energy

in #dtube5 years ago (edited)


This is from a show we did about 20 years ago at the Fine Arts Center in Colorado Springs. The Rhythm is Kassa, a favorite of the Farmers in Guinea West Africa. Farmers hire 3 or 4 drummers to come to the fields to turn work into play. It makes me want to clean the house.


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

It's hard to tell if you were the one playing with your hands or the sticks. That drumming is intense, powerful, and takes quite a lot of endurance. Thanks for sharing.

I produced the show is how I was involved when I say "we". I was a beginnng African drumming student at this time taking class from one of the twin drummers at Colorado College. It was never something I wanted to do but 25 years ago this type of music couldn't be found. I had to learn the style so I could play it so I could hear it. It's been a journey. Yes, it can be very physical. I don't think I could play like that now, I'm coming off of about 8 years of mostly being in bed. I found playing for dance classes a real challenge. We played like that for 1 and1/2 hours...basically nonstop.

Thanks for the background. Glad to hear you're more mobile now. One minute will hopefully turn into 5, into 10 if you give it a try. If you'd like an intro to a musician who plays a lot of improv piano, guitar and percussion (often one-man band style) for dance classes, check out @jaybird. He's always posting relaxing clips and has some great polyrhythm chops.

Hi @willowwisp! Your son is very proud of his mom and was bragging on your drum playing abilities, so I found myself wandering over here to see what you were about!

I have to admit, the first time out you did absolutely wonderful! All the little things you didn't like, they will all work themselves out over time.

The music was awesome and the energy was super fun to watch. I hope you continue to make more! Steem on!

And welcome!! My name is Denise and I look forward to coming back and hearing more!

!tip

Thank you for the kind words and encouragement.

The pleasure is mine!

This is the first upload I've done and I didn't realize my computer screen would be on the video too. Sorry for the sound but it was and is hard to capture drum recordings. I may redo this if I learn how to get the video to look correct.

Congratulations @willowwisp! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 50 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 100 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness and get one more award and increased upvotes!

🎁 Hi @willowwisp! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Winter Is Dead Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63750.99
ETH 3130.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95