Yukon Gold Mashed Potatoes

in #dtube5 years ago (edited)


This is the first of 3 Irish style food videos I will be uploading in the coming days before Saint Patrick's Day. I say Irish style because I found out after originally uploading this recipe on YouTube 2 years ago that yukon gold potatoes are actually rare in Ireland. That's alright though because I'm American who happens to have Irish blood. Corned beef is not really Irish either, but it's what many Americans eat this time of year.

I will have another old video remade for DTube up in the next day or 2. That video will be Irish potato cakes. I will also have a brand new video up before St. Paddy's Day. I spelled it Paddy and not Patty because that is actually offensive in Ireland since St. Patrick was a man, and Patty is a woman's name. Anyhow, the new video is cheesy corned beef hash. I'm recording it tomorrow, and i hope to have it up on Monday.

I made the mashed potatoes in a deep dish pan as opposed to a pot because it's much easier to record. I like my mashed potatoes a but lumpy. You can use a blender if you prefer it more smooth.

INGREDIENTS

2 pounds of yukon gold potatoes

1 cup of whole milk

3 tablespoons of unsalted butter (European style is best)

Fresh chives

Sea salt

Black pepper

DIRECTIONS

Peel the raw potatoes. (optional)

Cube the potatoes.

Boil the potatoes for about 15 minutes until you can pierce them easily with a fork.

Drain. (leave a tad of water)

Lower the heat to low.

Add and melt the butter.

Mix in milk.

Season with salt and pepper to taste.

Mash well.

Mince chives and add the to the mashed potatoes.

Stir well.

Eat!

Original longer video on my YouTube Channel

Please check out my butterfly video on my personal account @edgy-ed-morrison


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

This is delicious. I ended up adding quite a bit of milk but that’s probably because I used sour cream in place of cream

Hmmm, sounds delicious, can’t wait to try it with my golden potatoes from the farmer’s market.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by XSgreen-cook Edgy-Ed-Morrison from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Congratulations @xsgreen-cook! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 50 comments. Your next target is to reach 100 comments.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Are you a DrugWars early adopter? Benvenuto in famiglia!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

I like to see the potato cakes!!

Posted using Partiko iOS

The potato cakes video is done and ready to upload. I just need to go to Starbucks. I didn't get a chance to record the corned beef and hash video yet, due to overwhelming personal problems.

Right on!
Hope things will get much better for you soon!
God bless you!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64136.70
ETH 3128.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94