Archers in the Thicket! - Rooting out the Enemy in Total War: Arena

in #dtube6 years ago (edited)


Another round of Total War: Arena, this time joined by @hazza1020, bolstering our ranks with another contingent of infantry. This battle was very focused in the very centre of the map. It started with a short standoff with the enemy cavalry trying to tempt me into a charge. They know that Greek shock cavalry is superior on impact however they are counting on the spears moving up behind them to ambush me. I make the decision not to engage which pays off as the spears soon reveal themselves.

The great thing about cavalry is the mobility they afford you on the battle field. Whilst @hazza1020 holds the left flank I quickly swap to the right to support @mugsy7 while he contests the center. I soon discover a small group of archers hiding in the tall grass on the right and proceed to charge and, in doing so, reveal an entire nest of them scurrying in the woods. I am prompt backed up by @fiskey who mops up any remaining men once I break their morale.

Once the flank is clear we move to secure the center only to have to rush back to defend our base. Some strong teamwork and tactical manouvering allowed us to make relatively short work of our opponents as the broke upon us!

For an alternate perspective on this match go check out https://steemit.com/dtube/@mugsy7/1wde8kaw


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

I'm blaming you when I get RE addicted to Total War. This was nicely done. Thanks for the afternoon entertainment.

Haha, yeah the guys I'm playing with got me back into it just recently so still working my way through the tiers. I'm glad you enjoyed!

It really is a amazing map to get cav on, we dominated the entire game and no one protected their archers.

Yeah this map and Hadrian's wall I feel are great for cav

Just caught your video it absolutely amazes me the picnic you guys were having at the start while i was bathing in blood in the center lol no wonder you keep playing cavalry.

Hahaha, yeah sometimes it's really easy to mop up for the team while everyone does the hard yards butbivneed had games where I literally do nothing because my team doesn't engage or support so that I can execute a charge or flank

I may as well have been Parmenion holding the left flank for Alexander lol

I want one of those chariots in total war haha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61588.80
ETH 3006.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64