DtubeDaily | VLOG |  A night out enjoying Carnival in Montevideo, Uruguay.

in #dtubedaily6 years ago (edited)


Last weekend I went with Silvina, my friend from Argentina, to see the Carnival in Montevideo. February is the month when all these celebrations happen: lots of fun, parades, drums, dancing, costumes and more. Everyone goes out to the streets to see this huge event that is a big part of our culture.

Uruguay has the longer lasting Carnival in the world, with 40 days of celebrations in the streets. Its all about Candombe, the traditional rhythm that is played with the also traditional drums. There are three kinds of drums used to play Candombe: Piano, Chico and Repique. Each one of them has a unique sound and is played differently, and when the sound of the three merge, you create our most traditional and representative rhythm.

We had lots of fun drinking beers and watching the "llamadas" which is how the aggrupations are called. Each one of them have some dancers, usually wearing little clothes, some guys waving massive flags, and the drummers that play the music. All of them wearing colorful and shiny costumes.

Here are some videos from that night. It was not something easy to document because there is lots of movement, it was packed with people, there was not a lot of light, and I have had a couple of beers, all this made it difficult to get the results that I would have wanted to. Still... the videos are alright for you to get an idea of what Carnival looks like here in Uruguay. Hope you like them and thanks for your support!!

DtubeDaily-icon-black.png


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS

Sort:  

That's awesome, I have been to Carnival in Boston but it is an afternoon affair, 40 days and nights sounds bananas. I used to have a job where I had to go to all manner of festivals and events and that was probably the most fun I ever had at one.

Dude! That sounds like the most entertaining job ever!

This looks amazing! I love seeing all the costumes and colours. The dancers are amazing. Thanks for sharing some of your culture. I love seeing things like this. 😊
Also your dogs are so cute!

Hey Thanks! Glad to know that you liked the Carnival. I think it is something cool, we locals might take it for granted and not really appreciate it much, but I know people from other places will find it interesting at least.

And yeah... Pirata and Bianca are super cute. Pirata was barking but in a good way, he just wants to play all day long. He is massive but acts like a puppy lol 😂

Great song! Makes you want to jump off of your chair and start dancing. Doesn´t it?

Que padre! Wish I can visit one day.

Lagak that lagoe

Very cool, you can’t but help but want to be part of the fun !! The drums were cool!!

I love the drums! You can see groups of people playing the drums in the street throughout the year. Usually on Sundays they would gather, drink some red wine and go around the streets of their neighborhood playing Candombe.

Glad you liked it!

It is very similar to the carnival in Brazil right? 😊

You just wanted to see the half naked girls confess eheheheh lol

It looks very fun anyway. I hope You have enjoyed it. And as a Latino I bet You can dance like them eheheh

I think it is similar to Brazilian Carnival yeah

And of course that I was there to see the girls LOL

About the dancing... meh I guess I can pull some moves but I am not a big dancer to be honest 😊

Ehehe

Me neither...

But we Latinos have that hips move.. And that's all we need to rock the dance floor lolol

That looks so freaking awesome man!! The people dancing there...just wow! You should have gone into that crowd and danced with them ;)

Winny out...for now ;)

Yeah bro, everyone dances there, not just the performers but the audience too. Because it is difficult not to move your body with such an atmosphere.

Yeah man! If I were there I would definitely dance so much!! :D

Winny out...for now ;)

This looks and sounds so much more interesting than Carnival in Germany. As it's usually really cold at this time here you will probably never see such lightly dressed women ;)

hahahhah yeah the lightly dressed women is a big part of Carnival 😂

Upvote 200! Nice party, got to get there some year.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70446.49
ETH 3571.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73