Bangkok Thailand Buying Jok for Dinner dtubesnap

in #dtubesnap5 years ago (edited)


Jok is called congee in some places. It is a rice porridge and sold in the evenings. It acts like a sleeping pill for me. Once I eat it, I can go out like a light.

I was on the street in the neighborhood of MRT Sutthisan in Bangkok while filming this video and shopping for dinner. The jok would cost me 30 thb, which was about 60 cents usd. I was spending 10 thb extra to get four hard boiled quail eggs into the mix. I also had some chicken livers on a stick which were barbecued at a different stall. Those would be 4 for 20 thb. Finally, I already had a plate of vegetables chopped, spiced, and waiting back at my hotel.

So the meal would consist of the livers chopped up and put into the salad. Then the jok would go over that and make two meals. Yes, I did eat the second plate cold and liked it just as much the second day. I had to eat this at night and about thirty minutes later I would be sleeping like a log.

I have not seen jok in Malaysia, but I am pretty sure I can find it if I look. Now that I see this video, I will have that as a goal.

I hope you enjoy these short videos of my life in SE Asia. dtubesnap was initiated by @nathanmars and only requires a one minute video that you shoot. This is a great way to get posting daily on steemit, and show us some of your life.


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63892.45
ETH 3117.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87