Mornings at the Forest Temple


I'm back from a four days and three nights at a Buddhist temple retreat near Khao Yai National Park. Its about 2.5 - 3 hours drive from Bangkok. The place is surrounded by nature, which gives this temple the ideal location for those looking to unwind, relax and find peace with their minds. It's great for those who are Buddhist, interested in Buddhism or like me, just want to get away from the hustle for a bit - clear some head space.

In this vlog, I show you what happens every morning from waking up before sunrise to offering food/making merit. I also show you the grounds of one of the temples that I visited. Just wanted to show you a slice of Buddhism in Thailand. Hope you enjoy the vlog/video!


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

What type/model of camera and lens been used to capture this video (in the National Park.) ?

I just have an Android phone - Huawei Nova 3i. Its known to have a great camera considering the price of the phone compared with Samsung and Apple. Though, the Huawei P20 is the outstanding range as they worked with Leica on that phone. Give it a search and a check 😉

Posted using Partiko Android

The nature is amazing out there! We are planning on going to Khao Sok after New Years to enjoy a bit of nature as well, cannot wait! 😁

Posted using Partiko iOS

Yes it is truly untamed, but they risk losing their national park status if building continues. Loads of resorts are popping up as where there is natural beauty, there are tourists/locals that want to be in it or near it. Hope you have a great time here in the New Year. Definitely going to miss places like this when I head to England. Yet, there are plenty of green spaces in England too... Shame about the weather and temperatures as they are not the same 😂

Posted using Partiko Android

OMG súper nice place friends ! Your are so privilege to be there.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you Ignacio! Yes, it is a really nice and peaceful place. If you ever come to Thailand, please be sure to check this area out. 😊 Thank you for your comment!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for that info i will try if i go.

Keep in contact here in @dtube

Thanks and yes, stay in touch. 😊

Posted using Partiko Android

It's looks radeculous your temple is nice to build nothing like that here on philippines

Yes this temple is quite special in its architecture as this order of Buddhism is followed by quite a few of the wealthy in Thailand, so they know architects and had the money to donate to construct a beautiful temple with teak wood. It's simple, yet elegant.

Thank you for your comment!

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh! This was where you went!!!!

Yea proof that I wasn't lying to avoid you LOL 😜 I was all in white robes and everything. Adhering to the Buddhist rules for a couple of days. Although, I'm not a Buddhist, my mum is, but we both agreed that I needed some clarity, figure stuff out in my life. What's the next step and doing good deeds to help me search for the right path/choice in life etc.

Posted using Partiko Android

There is a place to stay at a temple even in Japan.
This is interesting.:)

Posted using Partiko iOS

There are many places like this all over Asia! I'm sure the ones in Japan are very pretty too and quite tranquil. They all have their different looks and style. I am glad you'd enjoyed the video and thank you for commenting. 😊 Have a great day!

Posted using Partiko Android

I hope that you got all the blessings 😊😊, have a great journey buddy:)

Thank you @freecrypto! Hope so too and all the best with you 😊😊

Posted using Partiko Android

That looks so beautiful and peaceful. I'm jealous 😉

I've always been interested in Buddhism and actively meditate. I'll keep this place in mind for a visit if I ever make it back to Thailand 😁

Posted using Partiko Android

It is very beautiful and peaceful!

If you do ever come back to Thailand I'll let you know of the exact location. There are quite a few foreigners that come and are intrigued. Some stay just for the day and others days or weeks. I haven't known any that stay months. Usually at that point, you become a monk. 😉

Posted using Partiko Android

Ha ha. Well, I'm probably one who would end up a monk 😉

Living in nature with peace and quiet, meditating and writing... Sounds pretty good to me.

Posted using Partiko Android

Well then if you are serious then I'm sure my mum would gladly sponsor you as once a monk you cannot touch or deal with money, but in a way you still need support (sometimes that financially). Also, you would need acceptance from your mother and father (if they are alive) to be ordained. But you would need to be happy to do such a thing too.

Posted using Partiko Android

That is a kind offer... and I will remember it 🙂

I'm not sure that I'm ready to give up all things material yet though. I understand the reasoning behind it in the buhhdist methodology but I feel like it is possible to find that inner awakening, that presence that they speak about in Zen and other spiritual practices, without retreating completely from the world.

Hmnnn, it is an interesting thought though. As I've found the noise of all those material things, all those responsibilities, constently fight against that presence that can be found through meditation. It's like you find this wonderful place of peace... and then your brain is like... 'what about this thing that you've got to do to make sure this other thing is taken care of'... And then the effect of the hour of meditation is just blown away in the wind of all those responsibilities.

Lol, getting deep on a Friday 😉

Posted using Partiko Android

Deep thoughts for Friday for sure and maybe something to ponder about over the weekend 🤔 but you don't have to become a monk, you can be a 'lay person' like I did. A couple days in the temple where one takes away one self from the modern world... You can see I clearly didn't maximise this opportunity as I took out my phone to film etc. But that is the general basis. Otherwise, like you said, just mediation. Find a quiet space and an hour and a half to yourself. Mediate and relax the inner mind for an hour. Once that is over, go for a walk (preferably in nature and alone) for 30 minutes before all the priorities of life come flooding back. Just a suggestion.

Have a great weekend!

Posted using Partiko Android

I'm glad to see a bit of your trip and I'm so glad you got to take it, Sam. I am sure the experience will stay with you and help with all the action you have to come.

Way off topic, but how are you creating that wonderful thumbnail? I really need to up my game very soon.

Thanks Sharon! It's given me some thought to slow down at times when we travel 💯 miles per hour! You can get caught up in other people's/society's realities, but you should take some time to consider yours. Ease the suffering of being better by being content first.

The photo I think was enough to be a selling point and eye catching. The temple is quite beautiful in real life and the photo does some justice. I used Canva for the text and created boxes around it to stand out. Text against photos are hardly seen. I hope this helps! 😊

Posted using Partiko Android

Peacock looks shocked to see that you guys have not reserved a seat at the table :)

The peacock was very cheeky, looking at my food and came close to the other people to try to claim some food off them too! 😂😂

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60853.02
ETH 2904.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62