The Lightcaller Chronicles: The road to the Amber Temple Part: III


Image Source: http://www.eberron5e.com/topics/sorcerer

We had slain the vampire spawn, now all I had to do was somehow tell the Father that his only son was dead. I resigned my self to the task and headed back up stairs with the rest of the party. When we got back up the Father was starting to come around. I sent the rest of the party back to the tavern, everyone except Lyrudar that is, and went over to the Father. He was groggily starting to come around and it looked like it may be a while before he fully came to based on the massive lump right on his forehead. I reached over to him and channeled some divine healing energy and healed his wound with a touch of my hand.

That seemed to wake him right up and he just looked at me with a resigned sorrow in his eyes. He looked at me for about 5 seconds then lowered his head; “Did you do it?” He meekly asked. “Yes.” He just looked up at me with tears running down his face. “I’m sorry that it came to this. I just couldn’t bring myself to kill my own son, I was hoping that a cure would be found.” “I understand, I tried to save him but was unable to, I do promise you this though. If I ever find a way to bring him back from death I will do that for you.” “Thank you, now if you don’t mind I really need to be alone right now.”

Me and Lyrudar left right after that, I prayed to Mystra that he may find peace one day. We headed back to the tavern to find the rest of the group drinking with some old ladies. Turns out that they were the owners of this establishment. Let me tell you they could drink, not even Gorza was able to keep up. As we were drinking the cat leans over to me. “Hey pretty boy.” “What?” “So can you stop calling me cat and start using my name, its really pissing me off.” “Ok, but what the hell is your name??” “Oh shit, ya, it’s Storm Who Sits Upon The Mountain Top.” “……” “….. what?” “…… Bwaa haa haa, I’m just gonna call you Storm cause that names ridiculous.” “Ha ha ha what ever ass.” Feeling a little bad I tossed Storm a shiny gold coin and bought him another drink and he was fine after that.

While this was going on the tavern owners were telling us about their people. They were part of the Vistani, a group of nomads who wander around the lands. They told us that they have a camp about a day up the road and that their leader Madame Ava would be interested in meeting us. Apparently she is a bit of a seer and likes to introduce herself to people new in the land. That sounded like a plan to me so after a bit of a discussion with everyone we decided to head out after our drinks, thinking we should get a lay of the land and figure out what the hell was going on here.

Once we were done we bid the lovely ladies farewell and started off on our way. I couldn’t have been happier to be leaving that oppressive town, the aura of despair was eating away at me. Once we left the town limits it got better. Not much better but being away from that castle I was already starting to feel a little better. We were about 2 hours down the road when we heard it. Shouting and snarls from what sounded like very large wolves. We ran down the road and were not expecting the sight we found.


Image Source: http://www.angelfire.com/rpg2/vortexshadow/creatures/wolf.html

There standing over a prone woman was a man fighting off 3 of the biggest wolves that I have ever seen. They were clearly toying with him, as if they were waiting for something. Immediately I cast my most powerful spell at the beasts; shooting 3 scorching red rays, 1 at each of the wolves, from about 200 feet off as we were running to them. I could tell that it hurt them as I could hear the yelps even from where we were. As we got closer I pulled together just enough power to hit them again. This time the rays went flying to burn a hole right in each of their heads, collapsing them to the ground.

When we finally reached the bodies all we could smell was burnt fur. The man was helping the woman up off the ground and then I noticed. They were clearly brother and sister. This was the first look that I had at Irena and Ismark and little did I know was that they would play a major role in the events to come…

Sort:  

Good stuff bro. keep them coming sorry I missed the voting on the last ones. You know how life is.

Thanks for your good posts, I followed you!

Congratulations @shadowthrone! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last announcement from @steemitboard!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @shadowthrone! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60895.62
ETH 2917.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.58