Top 5 games shown at E3 2017 I'm looking forward to!

in #e37 years ago (edited)

I wrote my little Steemit Gaming introduction with a top 5 games I have ever played, which was both in honor of my first post and E3. So now I wanted to get into E3 a little more since it is still a hot topic and this years was very good in my opinion. There are more than five games that really caught my attention, but I wanted to keep it on the shorter side. Here they are...

Honorable Mentions

  • Sea of Thieves/Skull and Bones
    One game features a more open world and exploration while the other focuses on Pirate battles. Hyped for both.

  • Metro Exodus
    Trailer looked absolutely gorgeous and gameplay looked interesting. I never played the earlier titles.

5 - Super Mario Odyssey

I have always been a Mario fanboy. He was the first larger than life video game character I really got to know as a kid. Sadly the last game outside of Mario Kart that I have enjoyed was Super Mario 64, and we all know that was quite a long time ago. Odyssey looks so interesting to me though. The different worlds they are allowing you to explore with Mario looks really exciting and different, something I think Mario could really use. The top down style games that Nintendo has released over the years since Mario 64 has gotten stale for me, and a change of pace is exactly what I need. This and the rumored Metroid Prime and Pokemon core RPG will certainly get me to spend the cash on the Switch.

4 - Middle Earth: Shadow of War

The first game in the series had it's ups and downs. The nemesis system was an amazing system that worked really well. Now it seems they have built upon it and added some more depth and options. The problem with the first game was how repetitive it felt after a while, it seemed like I was doing the same thing over and over. I am really hoping not only that the recruiting system can help build upon the already successful nemesis system, but that they can add some more depth to the characters and make the story more interesting to keep me engaged and caring.

3 - God of War

The gameplay style of the original God of War games was fast paced and full of action. It looks like they are slowing down the pace a little bit, but not pulling back on the action at the same time. Kratos was a character you didn't really need to know a lot about in the earlier games, you had much of the info and really only cared about where he was going and helping (controlling) him to get his revenge on the Gods. Getting the player to really connect and care about Kratos, and his son, in the new game looks to be a key focus, and even in just the little clips we got to see so far I can tell it will be a story well worth playing through. Moving on from Greek Mythology to Norse is a very cool move too, as the latter is my favorite mythology of them all, and seeing their iteration of these Gods and deities will be very interesting, and killing them too!

2 - Anthem

Explaining Anthem's trailer to friends..."It looks like a mix between Destiny, Halo, and Horizon: Zero Dawn...and you get to be Iron Man". That is the best way I can put it. Co-op online games have always been my favorite, I have a core group of friends and it's always nice to have a wide selection of games we can get into and out of at any time. Anthem is most certainly going to be one of those games. I am curious how big this world is going to be, and if eventually we will be able to venture to other worlds, the technology used in it makes me think space travel will be possible, but that might be too close to Destiny if that were the case. The game looks gorgeous, not much was shown in terms of story, but I was shown enough to be intrigued and know for sure that it is a game I will drop the money on to see what it's all about. I just hope they add a lot of customization options, no matter what I play, if it has customization options I always like to have my characters, or cars, looking their best.

1 - Spider-man

I have surprisingly seen quite a few negative comments on Spider-man. With the focus being that it looks like a remastered version of one of the older Spider-man games. I always ask why that is such a problem. Those Spider-man games are the ones I had the best time with. Swinging through New York City in a large open world (for the time), defeating thugs and crime bosses with acrobatic combat and utilizing my web to incapacitate enemies. The trailers featured all of that, and showcased graphics that look top notch. While it may not be the most popular pick, I had to go with it, because I know out of all of them, it's the one I will enjoy the most. Unless they completely drop the ball on it, but we'll see.

Let me know your top 5 upcoming games in the comments. Thanks for checking this out.

Twitter - @Macguffinstv
Youtube - youtube.com/ragenerdhd
twitch - twitch.tv/macguffinstv

Sort:  

You named really good games but spider man at #1 idk kinda weird

Yea, I figured some people would feel that way. I am not listing the best games, but the games I am looking forward to the most basically. I'll change title to clarify lol.

Good read. I'd place Anthem at number 1. That game looks phenomenal. Number 2 for me would be God of War, though, I won't lie and say i like the direction it's going. I would've rather they kept it at Greek Mythology. I'd still have Spider-man up there because gahhh dammm it looks good. Overall, Sony had a poor performance at E3 this year.

I agree, with sony having a poor performance this year, but i would have shadow of war up in 1 or 2

I couldn't agree more about Sony's poor performance. Especially in comparison to Microsoft. Sony has always been the ones to go all out and show tons of games and nothing but games, but this year they kind of held back. They showed some of their biggest games of course, but even with the VR games it felt like they showed maybe 15 games total. I think not having a VR yet actually benefited Microsoft, they were able to take the feedback from last year and went all out showing nothing but games.

Phil Spencer has been doing a nice job since taking over there, check out his interview with gamespot, he actually seems like a cool guy and definitely super smart, and I love the fact that he wants Microsoft and Sony to co-exist and sort of work together rather than have them pitted against each other.

I'm sure they could have squeezed more out of the Greek Mythology, but the major Gods and deities from it were taken out by Kratos already. I liked the move, but can definitely see people still wanting more of it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61060.27
ETH 2927.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55