Was E3 a disappointment this year? What I am most excited for from the weekends announcements.

in #e35 years ago (edited)

Hello everyone, E3 is still going strong but the majority of conferences and announcements are done, with Nintendo being the only major one left in about half an hour, 9 am PST.

After reading many comment sections and chats I have noticed that many have been disappointed with it this year. I can't say the same for me, but there have certainly been better years. I made a list a few days ago about what I most wanted to see from it this year, and most of it came through. Here are a few of the titles and announcements I am most excited about.

AMD's new hardware announcements, both from E3 and their own event a few weeks ago. I will soon be building the biggest, strongest, most expensive PC I have ever built, upwards of 5 thousand dollars will go into it.

Do I wait until September for the Ryzen 9 3950X or just go with the 3900X in July? 12 core or 16? We'll see. I am very excited about AMD's new line of hardware.

Marvel's Avengers - This is the top game I wanted more information about. I am a Marvel fanboy, but not in the way most fanboys are. I love DC as well and loved the Arkham games, so I had hoped Marvel would get another good quality triple-A game out alongside Spiderman. This looks like it will be it. I was very excited to learn about the 4 player cooperative gameplay, the Division 2 like world that gets increasingly more difficult (I think, not much detail), all new heroes they release as well as regions to explore will be completely free and they will not be releasing any loot boxes or pay to win stuff, which is exceptional news.

Phantasy Star Online 2 coming to the US - I have heard nothing but great things about PSO2 and when I told my buddy it was coming to the US he was very excited. I am not sure whether this will be cross-platform and playable on PC or just the Xbox One, but either way, I am very interested in getting my hands on it and experiencing the action combat I hear so many good things about. The trailer says "via the Xbox One" but then also says "online action combat with cross-play", so I am not sure what that all means. Check out the trailer.

Cyberpunk 2077 - We still didn't get a good look at the cooperative aspects of the game, but Keanu Reeves showing up sure lit a fire under the crowd, and myself. You can never go wrong with Keanu, who actually came out on stage to hype up the game. I will let the trailer speak for itself, but I think this game is going to be a huge success similar to that of The Witcher 3 if not bigger.

Xbox Game Pass Ultimate - Think about it. Xbox Live costs 5-10 bucks a month depending on if you buy monthly or 3-6-12 months at a time. The original game pass was 9.99 a month with only a few games carrying over to PC and most being covered on a console. With the addition of the Xbox Game Pass Ultimate, you pay 14.99 which includes both PC and Console AND your Xbox live membership. So not only do you get access to a lot of great old and brand new games, but you get your Xbox live covered as well. Considering Ubisoft is trying to do their own subscription for 14.99 with I feel far fewer benefits this is an incredible deal I am excited about.

Elden Ring - Not much is known about this game and I am not sure how I feel about good ol' George R.R Martin putting attention on anything other than finishing Winds of Winter, but it is his life and his decision right? lol. There aren't really any gameplay details, but with From Software being involved you can probably bet that this will be a game for those who crave punishment and difficulty similar to Dark Souls.

Luigi's Mansion 3 - Nintendo started off with a bang. Co-op fun sucking up ghosts and saving Toadstools! I saw this as the live stream was going, so I didn't get to see a whole lot, I will add the trailer later. I never played the first 2 games, but I am a big fan of the Nintendo Switch and this looks like a game I can really get into with friends, just look up Gooigi and you will see why, or watch the trailer lol.

Final Fantasy 7 remake - I never played the original 7. I only played 9 and 10 through to completion. So I am very excited that I will be able to play an updated version of what is many gamers favorite game. The gameplay that was shown really interests me because it allows you to play how you want to play. I remember seeing a lot of complaints that the game featured action hack and slash type combat over the more traditional FF turn-based combat, but they showcased that this is not entirely the case and you can choose between them. Here is the newer cinematic trailer and the gameplay trailer.


Legend of Zelda: Link's Awakening remake - I know some people can't stand remakes, but when it's such games as Final Fantasy or Legend of Zelda I can't complain. Being able to play an updated version of one of the games I remember playing so long ago is very exciting. It looks fun and I can bring it with me anywhere. I will update with a new trailer later.

Sort:  

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Looking forward to the new Star Wars Jedi Fallen Order as well. Its about time we get a real, kickass Star Wars game. Been a while.

Agreed, it was on my list of things I wanted to see more of. From what I am hearing it gives you an Uncharted feel, which is interesting because there was a rumored Star Wars game that was similar to Uncharted that was canceled, and yet this one has those connections as well.

Exactly. This one shows a lot of promise. If they don't mess things up in some way, I think it has the potential to be one of the best Star Wars franchise games yet.

Congratulations @macguffinstv! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!
Your post was upvoted by the @archdruid gaming curation team in partnership with @curie to support spreading the rewards to great content. Join the Archdruid Gaming Community at https://discord.gg/6yD2Emr. Good Game, Well Played!

Congratulations @macguffinstv! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 500 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 1000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 12 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 7 SBD worth and should receive 187 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61143.11
ETH 2928.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56