Attention GlobeHeads, Let's Hear Your Pseudoscience Explains this? #FLATEARTHsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #earth7 years ago

As many won't touch this subject with a 10 foot pole, I @rishherbalist always brings the real. Can't wait for the comments on this one, hahahahahahaaaa. More to come....

FB_IMG_1506536175486.jpg

Sort:  

Kinda weird to base your whole argument on data you don't actually cite. The fact that it's even a temperature graph is only apparent from context, and anything further about the data can only be guessed at.

Although the obvious answer is "because of the Earth's tilt, the equator isn't really hotter than the rest of the tropics, and also ocean currents exist", it's just I'm not ruling out "this data is from a summer's day in the Southern hemisphere" and "this data was pulled out of your ass" as possibilities.

Also, what the hell does "23.5 degrees up and down from the equator" even mean on a flat Earth? Which is only the beginning of how that model doesn't make sense, but it's what jumps out at me from the page.

apparent from the context

so it is obvious what it is, but you criticise him anyway...

Although the obvious answer is

is it? who determines this? you? who gives you that authority?

23.5 degrees up and down from the equator

you are not really that dense are you? we are forced to use the language the globe people came up with until we come up with a better one. you know exactly what it means, given the context... use your mind.

oh look, your little globalist buddy kerriknox upvoted you. almost like this is what you do for a living.

so it is obvious what it is, but you criticise him anyway...

Because "you didn't say this was a map of temperature" was not the criticism I was giving.

who gives you that authority?

Who gives me the authority to point out that obvious things are obvious? The captain, obviously

you know exactly what it means, given the context

Have you actually thought about the geometry of this?

almost like this is what you do for a living

That's ridiculous, but I will admit that I had a moment some time after the first argument I had with a flat-Earther on here where I realised "oh my god, the most productive thing I did this week was get into an internet argument with a flat-Earther". Although the sentiment is less the "Happy Merchant" reaction you're probably picturing, more a mix of horror at being such a worthless NEET and excitement about this Steemit thing that somehow let me make money by indulging in one of my worst habits.

You can't do the math, can you? If you could, you'd see how ridiculous your supposition is.

Try watching this:


Or this:

I take it you never valued science or math at school? Too bad if you didn't.

Hahaha, got no time for lil trolls, your brain must be pear shaped like Neil said the earth is. hahahaahaa
hqdefault.jpg

And math and physics are specialties to me, @joe.nobel Do you know how to use Auto-Cad? I can send you a file disproving the so called curvature. Let me know?

Fact checking is fun and educational. If you would have actually watched what Tyson said, in the one minute prior to him calling it pear shaped, he stated that it's almost a perfect sphere. So, which one of these is the perfect sphere, and which one is the oblateness the same shape as the earth?

I'm not sure what science you think you are advancing by not fact checking and being dishonest about what people say. Do you think that is how to advance science? By being intellectually dishonest?

earth pear-shaped_response to tyson comments.jpg

Also, I have no idea why you would think the tilt of the earth would make it inconsistent with the equator being (in general) the warmest place on earth? Can you please explain why that would be so? Because your meme doesn't explain that. Perhaps you are confused as to how light rays work? Or you do not understand how large the sun is?

And I honestly can't comprehend what the meme means by 'actual flat earth temperature data'. Don't you mean 'actual earth data'? Then you are leaping to the conclusion that it's a flat earth without having proven that.

I could also just say 'Actual round earth data' and you'd complain that I leaped to a conclusion and made assumptions. So, why is your assumption that it's 'actual flat earth data' correct? What 'data' made it 'flat earth data' and not 'globe earth data' other than that is what the meme declares without evidence? If you are an expert in math and physics, then you should understand how the scientific method works. It doesn't work by posting a meme and declaring victory, last I checked.

Also, I've LIVED in Equatorial areas, and they are actually some of the more temperate places. Medellin, Colombia is known as the 'City of Eternal Spring' and Bogota, Colombia is cool and temperate. Ecuador is quite pleasant too, and can even get cool. In the quite a bit of time I've spent on the equator, I never really even was sweaty!

Can you please explain these things? Using logic and reason, as a scientist would?

Good follow up.
But sadly these flat earth people already "know". Therefore there is no arguing with them. In that I mean persuading with facts. I don't even know why I engaged him in the first place, being against my better judgement, and knowing there's no talking sense into that kind of mentality.
Upvoting you, not him.

Because of memes like this that flat earthers put up, where they just pull some random natural phenomenon and say that it can only happen on a flat earth without explanation, I started doing a series of utter nonsense memes that say things like, "Heads aren't flat. That's 100% proof we live on a spinning ball" and one is "Hedgehogs. Impossible on a flat earth".

I feel that my memes that I literally just pulled out of my ass as a joke have as much validity as memes like the one above.

Heyya, please don't flag comments in the future due to disagreements, save flags for abuse/plagiarism, etc.

Hedgehogs! Love it! upvoted you again, just for that.
Keep on rockin' --- and espousing science. That's the only hope we have left.

nice post :) ..followed and upvoted

tnx for sharing

ignore the trolls.

if they call you names, they are not respecting your right to think for yourself, they are trying to get you to doubt yourself.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68652.07
ETH 3861.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70