#EarthDeeds

in #earthdeeds6 years ago

As I fly all over the world, I try to be conscious of my impact. Sometimes there is some cognitive dissonance that comes up... life is a balance.

There is an environmental impact, as well as a personal impact, to flying. My sense, at this time in my life, is that I am building the connections, experiences, and opportunities to create larger positive impacts in the world.

If I were to feel bad about gaining these experiences, how would I find the energy to make the connections (with other people, and within myself) to change the world in a positive way?

I don’t think I would.

This could be a whole philosophical discussion, but I’m just wanting to make a short post to convey my thoughts here.

As I board each airplane, I think about the lives of everyone on board, including my own, and how fragile we are. Flying is something of a Buddhist meditation for me, really: acknowledging my finite experience in this body and releasing attachment to it as I soar through time and space. I feel lucky to be alive, feeling whatever feelings I feel, and being wherever I am.

906047E4-D632-4D2A-8E14-80453F07B3FF.jpeg
Photo of me by wanderlinzz

As I travel, I meet amazing people and share amazing experiences, both in person and through media. I believe that this contributes to a better world by bringing attention and resources to people and places that are making sound efforts to live their best lives.

For me, living one’s best life means learning what inspires you and creating whatever manifests more peace, joy, and truth for your soul and others’.

It was hard for me to think of what to post about for this... fear of judgment, self-doubt, guilt/shame, all that stuff started to come up. But then as I was writing another post about my last week, I realized that I could list off several #earthdeeds. That’s when I had this “Oooh” moment of resonance with a recurrent #EarthDeed that feels so present for me right now: the act of sharing my thoughts, feelings, music, art, and life experiences with others through my steemit blog!

20A139ED-2479-4622-BE86-F26A45B0C2B0.jpegPhoto of me by wanderlinzz

I am relatively new to steemit - I have been enjoying it since July when I was introduced to the concept by @kennyskitchen.

The gift of this platform and community keeps giving me motivation and inspiration! I’m excited to continue interacting and deepening my understanding and enjoyment here.

This is a highly complex and deeply simple world. I feel blessed each day to live in it (even - or maybe especially - when I’ve felt particularly crummy!).

I hope that by sharing what is true for me and what I love about this world, I will inspire others to also live their best lives - whatever that means to them.

Believe in it!

~ Peace ~

A7DFF6A9-0F22-4CE7-ACD7-56C2FE69B1DD.jpeg

—-

This #EarthDeeds contest was put together by @ELAmental as a way to encourage us to share what we do to make the world a better place - therefore making the world a better place, together!

Sort:  

Thank you for pointing out that just the act of sharing conscious creation on the Steemit platform is manifesting a better, healthier world in itself. That is the main point I want to get across with the #EarthDeeds initiative. It is so vital that we show others how easy and important it is to live in harmony with the Earth. Thank you for sharing a wonderfully unique #EarthDeeds entry. Blessings.

:) thank you! I appreciate your motivation to be a catalyst for sharing and inspiring harmony.

:-) Much love.

As of late I have been feeling horrible about the carbon footpint in flying... and I have done this flying all over the world thing all my life. I love traveling for the learning and connections.

Thanks for making me think about it in different ways

My pleasure :)

It is all a balance.

Congratulations @em-blem! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - Steem Power, Followers and Following added

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 63096.57
ETH 2954.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55