Palomino, Kogi People and many lessonssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #eclipse5 years ago

I visited a town called Palomino, in the Guajira Department of Colombia. My family and I were celebrating my uncle’s 50th birthday, and we decided this destination had everything to make the occasion super special. The first day we arrived it was the day of the lunar eclipse. The picture in this message is taken with a GoPro from a beautiful hostel called Casa Del Pavo Real (a must, if you are in the area).

Through my search for an increase of consciousness, I knew the eclipse was a wonderful time to manifest our deepest desires. My desire has been to be able to live in the present moment, but the realization that living in the present doesn’t necessarily mean to ignore your past is key. To learn from your past signifies an opportunity to apply the knowledge and upgrade your programming.

I am back in the States, and since living in the present moment requires to learn from the past, is very important to reflect on my experiences.

Day 1

Super moon charged of awesome energy. Spending time with family was amazing and while reflecting on the beautiful environment, I realize I need to work on my communication skills after. More like miscommunication skills. I have this tendency to omit facts that I think will upset others.

Day 2

Long walks on the beach made me realized location is not the most important thing about traveling, the most important thing is vibration. A relaxed afternoon at the beach allowed me to take things easy and a dinner in a restaurant short-staffed made me realized my tendency to make excuses for others. I can adjust to most things, but I notice how my tendency to excuse others, comes with my desire to keep everybody happy, which happens to undermine their frustrations.

This day brought me a beautiful present. While walking around town, I met a street vendor who had the most beautiful quartz crystal. I bought the stone after he told me a Mamo (aka Kogi Tribe Priest) gave it to him and he is just now selling them. I believe him, but had the slight sensation that he was just bullshitting me. In any case, the quartz called me and I bought it.

Day 3

While visiting this area a trek to the Sierra Nevada of Santa Marta is a must. My family and I decided to do the 2 hour trip to meet the Kogi Tribe. That morning I chose to wear my quartz to charge it with mountain energy. After motorcycle rides and 2 hours of steep trails, we made it to the first Kogi hut; our guide offered to visit this one family, or keep walking to the village. We chose the village and kept on going. When we got there we were told the Mamo was there, and while he was meeting with the other older brothers, we were welcomed to join them. They told us about Aluna, The Great Mother and the Mamo kept asking us for our birthdates. Right before we were ready to leave, I remember the quartz. I asked the Mamo to please charge it with Kogi energy. AND HE TOTALLY DID! One of the older brothers told me something like: it will help with the thoughts of men and women.

We floated down the Palomino River and had a wonderful evening. I found the street vendor again, and told him the story of how Mamo Alfonso blessed my quartz that day. Synchronicity.

Day 4

Responsibility is not an easy task. And part of being responsible includes taking care of the needs of others. This requires to get out of our own head and sync with others frequencies. It’s hard to respond to a low frequency when you are flying high; but it should be a priority to bring everybody around you to the highest vibration available. Emotions are contagious, and while a laugh and a yawn can be passed around, so can anger and hunger.

Day 5

Ugh, tough day for my mental health. Santa Marta has seen a big influx of people running away from Venezuela’s conditions. I wanted to help everybody I could, and in that process, I might have put us at risk. I still feel very irresponsible for allowing my empathy to take over and blinding me from my environment. For a while I was hunted by a man’s story of crossing the border. It’s hard to know if they are telling you the truth or not. But realizing that a little bit of compassion goes a long way, I now believe I was able to help him. I have to tell keep telling my mind this, because the amount of pain of that city was unbearable. At some point I didn’t want to leave the house, but I did for my family.

Day 6

Sometimes the strong ones also need someone to take care of them. Tough lesson to remember, but even a tougher lesson is to allow others to take control. Great reminder to always check on the “Strong ones”

After being back home, I can’t help but wonder, how I can expand after this experience. I truly don’t know where I am going, but I know where I have been. So maybe the first step will be to intentionally release some energies. After writing about some of my experiences here are the things I will consciously try to let go of:

  • Letting go of my lack of communication. I notice how omitting information is also lack of communication. I will work on accepting the fact that I should not be the one to choose which pieces of information others will decide to absorb. I will pass it along, and help hopefully assist in the comprehension process.
  • Letting go of excuses. Ownership is necessary in order to expand.
  • Thoughts are powerful. Recurrent thoughts are even more powerful. I want to let go of the negative thinking in my life.
  • Letting go of my comfort. Is hard to understand that while I feel ok, others might not. Helping with the needs of others will increase the collective vibration.
  • Compassion is one thing, blindness is another. My grandma told me how she used to help everybody without expecting anything in return. She did this for decades! She took care of the sick, and anybody that needed what she had to offer. Not anymore. My grandma explained to me how another way to help people is to make them accountable for their actions, which in return allow them to increase their awareness. And while most likely the ones that need the help will not see the lesson in accountability, she knows her energy will go to the ones that want to better themselves. Letting go of blindly going through the world.
  • Letting go of impressions. What are impressions, but a mental picture we create in our heads? Thinking somebody is strong, doesn’t necessarily mean they are; and vice versa, the weak might appear weak, but they most likely are mighty warriors.

The best lesson is to realize living in the present requires awareness to fully receive all the knowledge Aluna has to offer. And like @Bel_done said: your mind is like a tv, you don’t buy all the stuff you see in the commercials. Why would you buy all the thoughts that cross through your head?

Thanks to a recent post I read, I might have an idea of what I want. I know a step in this path is to letting go and upgrade my experiences. Thank you to Colombia for all these beautiful lessons and cheers to finding true ways of expression.

Sort:  

✅ Enjoy the vote! For more amazing content, please follow @themadcurator for a chance to receive more free votes!

Hello @epiphanies! This is a friendly reminder that you have 3000 Partiko Points unclaimed in your Partiko account!

Partiko is a fast and beautiful mobile app for Steem, and it’s the most popular Steem mobile app out there! Download Partiko using the link below and login using SteemConnect to claim your 3000 Partiko points! You can easily convert them into Steem token!

https://partiko.app/referral/partiko

Congratulations @epiphanies! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 64161.84
ETH 2950.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60