You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Of Frugality and Waste.

in #ecology5 years ago

I find myself wondering how much packaging supermarkets would use if households weren't given those big empty bins to fill each week. If we had to pay to have our bins emptied I think we'd be a lot more conscious of minimising how much we throw away, and therefore what we buy. This would alter the products we're offered on the shelves.
Just another way that state interference in the market warps incentives.

Sort:  

Have you seen the little protests they do at the supermarkets? A group of shoppers get together and after checkout they remove all the unnecessary packaging and leave it behind either on the packing counter or in a trolley.

What a great idea, I must try this! Although I have almost eliminated packaging, we have a reducing amount in the recycling bin each week, and an even smaller amount goes into the bin for landfill. Even though I would say we are buying less, buying wisely and have very little waste, only 40% of the city's waste is recycled, which means that in parts of the city, people are finding it difficult to recycle or buy less packaging in the first place. I'm guessing it would be poorer communities, but I'm not sure about that. I've shared houses with comparatively affluent people who don't recycle anything.

I'm still working on reducing packaging. We're getting there, but sometimes you don't get a choice, do you? When so much is recyclable it can be disappointing that a rather small section of recycling is catered for in western countries.

Yes, packaging and the easy disposal of it is taken for granted by many. However, it's frustrating when you want to try and reduce packaging on purchases and find yourself paying out more.

Posted using Partiko Android

I hadn't, but I see the appeal.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57038.56
ETH 2908.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65