The Nine Box! 😱

in #ecology6 years ago (edited)

This week I decided to go crazy and order The Nine Box! Normally, I get the mini fruit and veg box with six different vegetables and seven pieces of fruit. It's a good deal if there are only one or two of you, but I found I was ordering extras, so I thought I would try the next box up and order the mixed bag of fruit separately.

IMG_1937.JPG
Here's what arrived: clockwise from bottom left - nine pieces of fruit, asparagus, kohl rabi (I think?), spinach, fennel, cos lettuce, carrots, onions, potatoes, tomatoes and mushrooms. The tomatoes were extra!

I love it when the box is delivered on Wednesday mornings, it's like Christmas, that feeling of anticipation, "What's going to be in the box?" I'm always delighted by the choices - things I wouldn't always buy myself (although I think we have three lettuces waiting to be used now).

I haven't worked out whether it is more expensive, I guess the individual price of each item costs more. But I don't spend any time or money driving, or thinking what I am going to buy and there is very little waste. I find I'm more economical with my delivery, I plan meals around what I have, so that everything is used up.

My delivery comes from Eden Farms in Lincolnshire. They're very nice, even when I ring up last minute on a Tuesday and ask whether they can take an order for delivery on Wednesday morning. "Go on, then," they say, "hurry up"! The van driver is great, too, very friendly, admires my kitchen garden and leaves the box in the shade.

Ordering organic fruit and vegetable deliveries is part of trying to reduce my ecological footprint. Small steps, big rewards. For all of us. You can find out about your ecological footprint in this post by @phoenixwren.

IMG_1882.PNG
I'm running in the Leicester 5k Race for Life and the payouts from all my running posts tagged #raceforlife will be donated to Cancer Research UK until then. If you would like to support me please vote for my post below.

Sunday morning run and plogging chronicles.

Thank you!

Sort:  

Hi, we have voted on your post because you have posted your article to either food, recipe, recipes, cooking or steemkitchen #tag. Steemkitchen is a brand new initiative where we want to build a community/guild focused purely on the foodie followers and lovers of the steem blockchain. Steemkitchen is out of the conceptual phase and growing each day. We would love to hear your thoughts and ideas.

We are almost ready to Launch the first Decentralized Recipe and Food Blog Website that will utilize the Steem BlockChain and its community to reward contributions by its members.

Please consider joining us at our new discord server https://discord.gg/XE5fYnk

Also please consider joining our curation trail on https://steemauto.com/ to help support each other in this community of food and recipe lovers.

Kind Regards

@steemkitchen

Ps. Please reply “No Vote” if you prefer not to receive this vote and comment in the future.

Amazing vegetables. Very healthy.By the way, the pic is excellent as well.

Hahaha - I've been paying more attention to which way I hold the device, hopefully no more upside down trees!

The delivery looks really good @shanibeer... I wonder how you will be preparing the kohl rabi.

We planted some last year but we reckoned the soil was 'too nutrient rich' or something as it was only leaves no nice purple bits to eat. Anyway we did use some of the leaves... I don't think I've ever tried it properly though.

I'm not sure, I've just had to look up some recipes for kohlrabi - good with Indian spices, it says, or shredded raw in salads, pureed into soup, fritters (that's not going to happen), roasted or simply steamed and eaten or thrown into frittatas etc. What do you think?

I prefer as little preparation as possible... Ideally just washing and eating raw... Less fuss @shanibeer. I tend to 'throw things' into soups here again no fuss - I'm probably lazy really but I think food should be as simple as possible (less energy consumed trying to prepare it) ... 😊

I tried the kohl rabi last night. It tastes like turnip, which I understand has a lot of mineral nutrients. I tried some raw, in Cyprus they serve something similar at the start of the meal with olives and bread and dips. The rest went in a casserole with lamb, carrots and onions - quite tasty. The greens were the best bit, I think, I just steamed them, but if I was doing them again, I would cook them like collard greens with some bacon.

Thanks for that @shanibeer... We'll persevere with the kohl rabi the though probably best cooked 😊

Woah! That's so much food! I daren't do a co-op box because I'd be allergic to 3/4 of it. 😢 I even asked once if I could make a "safe list" of things I was allowed to eat and only get those things and they were like, "we allow you to make a list of five things never to putt in the box, just for allergic people or foods you hate!" I was like, yeah, my SAFE list would probably be five items long, not the reverse... lol. So then I asked, can I just get the milk delivery, and order veg a la carte? No. Damn.

Ah, that's such a shame!

I think in the long run, the cost of these fruits and vegetables will probably be less giving the fact that you didn't have to spend time at the market. I have been thinking about doing this myself especially in the winter when the weather is horrible outside.

That's another good reason to have home delivery! I think you are right - overall, they cost less to the household and definitely less environmentally. I also like supporting a small business.

We have a co-op plan here, but at the time it was too much food for 2 people. They told me they were going to present a smaller box for purchase, but it has not happened yet. This looks so yummy!!

I think it must be very difficult for suppliers to get it just right. I used to use another farm, more local, but they only had two choices, neither of which was right for me, and, though I don't mind scrubbing vegetables, their potatoes were mud-encrusted! Be good when you get your smaller box.

I really related to the anticipated delivery and "what's in the box!" Must be related to a game show when I was younger :).
I'm In Leicester now, Western Park. Cuppa tea and say hi?

Was that Hughie Green, Saturday tea-time tv?
Nice cup of tea, thank you!

That was Opportunity Knocks :) I think

Ah yes, I couldn't remember.

I love how colourful it looks. I used to get similar boxes delivered and ate much better back then. I should start again but it’s difficult when away a few days every week. OK I could go to the supermarket but then I struggle with how much choice there is. I like being forced into a selection.

I know what you mean about being away. I have to do an order every week that I'm home, rather than a standing order, and sometimes I forget. Am I right in thinking you make a great yorkshire pudding?
Me too about being forced into a selection!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63071.06
ETH 3121.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84