Shopify Websites Are Down - If You Have a Shopify Store Check it Right Now

in #ecommerce6 years ago

shopify.png

So I just got a call from a customer of mine, she said did you know your servers are down? I tend to get calls like this from time to time and vast majority of the time someone is going to the wrong domain or something along those lines. I checked it out and to my surprise, yes my Shopify store was down. When I visit my domain I get a message saying "this site could not be reached. "XYZ" server IP Addresss could not be found."

Shopify is typically pretty good. Companies like Shopify or Amazon rarely go down and tend to have very little down time so this is surprising. If you remember about a year back Amazon had some issues and all AWS sites went down for an afternoon, but rarely do these things happen. Today apparently it's Shopify.

If you have a Shopify store go check your domain and see if your store is like. Myself and my partner have 3-4 stores and all are down at the moment. Curious to hear if you guys are experiencing the same or if your store is still live?

I was told the developers are working on it, if it's not up by mid afternoon call back to check on a status update. This is pretty disapointing as if my site is not live I'm not making money. Fortunately for me I have an 800 number so my customers if need be can call in orders, but still sucks.

Sort:  

Let's hope it's not another hack and/or data leak of some kind.

So continued digging into it. My domains that I purchased from godaddy and/or namecheap, those shopify sites are still up. For some reason I purchased a domain through Shopify aka OpenSRS their provider and that is the only site that is down now. Not sure why I even purchased it through them but seems that's the issue.

Thx for another informative post. Easy to read.

I just started using shopify so this art is very usefull.

Please continue up with creating interesting content - it may be hard at the beginning to build reach and solid followers base.
Steemits needs solid content builders so just dont ever give up! :)

Mine shop is luckily still alive ... ufff

Just to add some FUD to your article it could be connected to facebooks recent problem. When you profit using a platform like that they are likely to want a cut. Also with facebook marketplace being highly pushed especially on the mobile app where it has it own tab they might try to phase it out.

[Copied from the Shopify Wiki page]
In 2017, the #DeleteShopify hashtag campaign called for a boycott of Shopify for allowing Breitbart News to host a shop on its platform.[48][49][50] Shopify's CEO, Tobias Lütke, responded to the criticism,[51] saying "refusing to do business with the site would constitute a violation of free speech"

That's why you shouldn't Succ the Zucc XD!

I think Shopify made the right call. I don't think it's SHopify's place to decide who should be able to sell what. If someone wants setup a site they should be allowed to. That sets a dangerous precedent to pick and choose who you agree with and who you don't, who can sell and who can't. Let the market decide if they want to support someoen. If someone doesn't like Breitbart don't buy stuff from them.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60837.81
ETH 2874.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62