The Detergent Divide

in #economics2 years ago

Since the middle of December, I have been without full-time work. I filed for unemployment, but have yet to receive a payment. I am DoorDashing to have a bit of income and keep myself from getting bored out of my mind, I need to complete an application for what seems like a cross between DoorDash and the Geek Squad, I will be doing a few hardware reset this coming week, and am submitting resumes to positions that could use my skills. I have one and possibly two interviews this coming week.

The DoorDashing is allowing me to keep myself OK financially. My rent is current, my utilities are paid up, my insurance is paid, I should be able to make the minimum payments on my credit cards. I am in the process of getting my car loan deferred and my student loans are in deferment. I have food, thanks to a fellow activist and a social service agency. The expense that has given me the most trouble is--laundry.

I do not have a washer and dryer in my apartment, so I have to use the laundry room. In the past, my Aunt would have let me come to her place to do laundry, get some lunch and dinner, and sometimes attend Saturday services. Alas, she passed away in September. Thankfully, the same activist who has given me food has helped me with keeping my clothes, etc. clean by giving me the money to do my laundry.

My situation has me thinking about people who don't have compassionate friends. I can see someone who does not have a washer or dryer in their home, like folks who live in public housing, choosing to buy food instead of doing the laundry, or only doing what is needed for work. For the homeless, it is even worse; a fellow activist said he wondered how many homeless are going to clothing distributions merely to get clean clothes.

Many social service agencies likely lack a solution to this, but could churches be a solution? Cassocks and choir robes do not wash themselves, and a church may have large capacity machines or access to a service. Why not open these to the needy public; they could offer a meal and access to other services.

Another idea would be for a church or social service agency to partner with a laundromat to provide gift cards or vouchers that could be redeemed for free laundry. A mobile laundromat, like what may be deployed after a natural disaster is a third option.

In a pandemic, having clean clothes, towels and especially bed linens is critical. Especially with many of the most important jobs being done by people who may be struggling to keep clothes clean.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65925.23
ETH 3003.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75