You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Trip to an Unprotected Dry Forest Priority Conservation Site within the Lobitos District – Quebrada Cerro Blanco

in #ecoswell5 years ago

Hey Elliot! You have great photographs there from your trek. Thank you for sharing them here. What a great way to learn and explore while having fun!

This is my first time to know about sapote. Is its fruit edible? Can the plant be domesticated?

Did Tamarix really caused the draught on the third photo? That's horrible.

The cliff is white because of seabirds’ droppings (“guano”)

That's interesting. I did not realize that bird wastes can cause such huge reaction.

It is sad to see those solid wastes in the middle of nowhere. Those even seem non-biodegrable. I wonder how they got in there.

Cerro Blanco seems an arid land. Is it because it's summer season there or is it because it is really a dry land? It even look like a desert to me...

Sort:  

Hi @macoolette,

We are glad you liked our post.
Yes, sapote is an edible fruit and it tastes delicious, you should come to Lobitos and try it :)

Tamarix is an invasive plant, this plant absorbs the salt from the air and as a result, it affects the soil! Cerro Blanco is an arid land, that is why we are working on so many projects in order to make those places look better.

Hope we hear back form you soon!

Or maybe you send me some sapotes so I can try from here, yeah? 😊

It is amusing how Tamarix can be so powerful to literally "destroy" the land like that.

we are working on so many projects in order to make those places look better.

What projects in particular? I wonder how that arid land can be made better... It must take a lot of efforts!

Hi @macoolette you can take a look at the different projects we are working on here:

http://ecoswell.org/projects.php

Hi @ecoswell! Thank you very much for sharing the link to your projects. I found out about your Aidn aeroponic which I featured on Steemhunt and got fairly good reception from the community. I have made your account a contributor to that post for 10% share of the payout. Aside from the 10% that will be automatically given to you and not go through me anymore, I may directly transfer part of the liquid payout directly to your wallet if the payout turns well . Let's see...

I'll get back to your other post....

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59274.49
ETH 2983.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75